Union Calendar No. 91

106th Congress
1st Session

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Report 106–163

SBDV 2000-1

REPORT

ON THE

SUBALLOCATION OF BUDGET ALLOCATIONS FOR FISCAL YEAR 2000

SUBMITTED BY MR. YOUNG OF FLORIDA, CHAIRMAN, COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS



May 25, 1999.—Committed to the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union and ordered to be printed

U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE

69-006 WASHINGTON: 1999

COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS

C. W. BILL YOUNG, Florida, Chairman

RALPH REGULA, Ohio JERRY LEWIS, California JOHN EDWARD PORTER, Illinois HAROLD ROGERS, Kentucky JOE SKEEN, New Mexico FRANK R. WOLF, Virginia TOM DELAY, Texas JIM KOLBE, Arizona RON PACKARD, California SONNY CALLAHAN, Alabama JAMES T. WALSH, New York CHARLES H. TAYLOR, North Carolina DAVID L. HOBSON, Ohio ERNEST J. ISTOOK, Jr., Oklahoma HENRY BONILLA, Texas JOE KNOLLENBERG, Michigan DAN MILLER, Florida JAY DICKEY, Arkansas JACK KINGSTON, Georgia RODNEY P. FRELINGHUYSEN, New Jersey ROGER F. WICKER, Mississippi ROGER F. WICKER, Mississippi MICHAEL P. FORBES, New York GEORGE R. NETHERCUTT, Jr., Washington RANDY "DUKE" CUNNINGHAM, California TODD TIAHRT, Kansas ZACH WAMP, Tennessee TOM LATHAM, Iowa ANNE M. NORTHUP, Kentucky ROBERT B. ADERHOLT, Alabama JO ANN EMERSON, Missouri JOHN E. SUNUNU, New Hampshire KAY GRANGER, Texas

JOHN E. PETERSON, Pennsylvania

DAVID R. OBEY, Wisconsin JOHN P. MURTHA, Pennsylvania NORMAN D. DICKS, Washington MARTIN OLAV SABO, Minnesota JULIAN C. DIXON, California STENY H. HOYER, Maryland ALAN B. MOLLOHAN, West Virginia MARCY KAPTUR, Ohio NANCY PELOSI, California PETER J. VISCLOSKY, Indiana NITA M. LOWEY, New York JOSÉ E. SERRANO, New York ROSA L. DELAURO, Connecticut JAMES P. MORAN, Virginia JOHN W. OLVER, Massachusetts ED PASTOR, Arizona CARRIE P. MEEK, Florida
DAVID E. PRICE, North Carolina
CHET EDWARDS, Texas
ROBERT E. "BUD" CRAMER, JR., Alabama
JAMES E. CLYBURN, South Carolina MAURICE D. HINCHEY, New York LUCILLE ROYBAL-ALLARD, California SAM FARR, California JESSE L. JACKSON, JR., Illinois CAROLYN C. KILPATRICK, Michigan ALLEN BOYD, Florida

James W. Dyer, Clerk and Staff Director

(II)

LETTER OF SUBMITTAL

House of Representatives, Committee on Appropriations, Washington, DC, May 25, 1999.

Hon. J. Dennis Hastert, The Speaker, U.S. House of Representatives, Washington, DC.

DEAR MR. SPEAKER: By direction of the Committee on Appropriations, I submit herewith the Committee's report on the suballocation of budget allocations. This report is consistent with the "Allocation of Spending Authority to House Committees" as provided in the Conference Report, House Report 106–91, to accompany H. Con. Res. 68, establishing the Congressional Budget for the United States Government for the fiscal year 2000 and setting forth appropriate budgetary levels for each of fiscal years 2001 through 2009.

The Committee, in distributing our allocation among the 13 regular appropriations bills, has remained within the allocation's totals. Sincerely,

C. W. BILL YOUNG, Chairman.

(III)

Union Calendar No. 91

106TH CONGRESS 1st Session

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Report 106–163

REPORT ON THE SUBALLOCATION OF BUDGET ALLOCATIONS FOR FISCAL YEAR 2000

May 25, 1999.—Committed to the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union and ordered to be printed

Mr. Young of Florida, from the Committee on Appropriations, submitted the following

REPORT

SUBALLOCATION OF BUDGET ALLOCATIONS FOR FISCAL YEAR 2000

The Committee on Appropriations submits the following report on the suballocation of budget allocations for fiscal year 2000 pursuant to section 302(b) of the Congressional Budget Act of 1974.

SUBALLOCATIONS TO SUBCOMMITTEES, FISCAL YEAR 2000 BUDGET AUTHORITY AND OUTLAYS [In millions of dollars]

Subcommittee	Discretionary	Mandatory	Total
Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug			
Administration:			
Budget authority	13,988	50,295	64,283
Outlays	14,542	33,088	47,630
Commerce-Justice-State-Judiciary:			
Budget authority	30,483	523	31,006
Outlays	30,810	529	31,339
Defense:			
Budget authority	270,292	209	270,501
Outlays	261,730	209	261,939
District of Columbia:			
Budget authority	453		453
Outlays	452		452
Energy and Water Development:			
Budget authority	19,390		19,390
Outlays	19,269		19,269
Foreign Operations:			
Budget authority	10,356	44	10,400
Outlays	11,942	44	11,986
Interior:			
Budget authority	11,341	59	11,400
Outlays	11,744	83	11,827
Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education:			
Budget authority	78,142	233,459	311,601
Outlays	78,878	233,644	312,522
Legislative:			
All except Senate:			
Budget authority	1,917	77	1,994
Outlays	1,965	77	2,042
Senate items:			
Budget authority	575	17	592
Outlays	550	17	567
Total Legislative:			
Budget authority	2,492	94	2,586
Outlays	2,515	94	2,609

SUBALLOCATIONS TO SUBCOMMITTEES, FISCAL YEAR 2000 BUDGET AUTHORITY AND OUTLAYS Continued [In millions of dollars]

Subcommittee	Discretionary	Mandatory	Total
Military Construction:		·	
Budget authority	8,749	********	8,749
Outlays	8,961		8,961
Transportation:			
Budget authority	12,700	721	13,421
Outlays	43,544	717	44,261
Treasury-Postal Service:			
Budget authority	13,562	14,385	27,947
Outlays	14,124	14,394	28,518
VA-HUD-Independent Agencies:			
Budget authority	66,204	21,319	87,523
Outlays	79,690	21,136	100,826
Grand total:			
Budget authority	538,152	321,108	859,260
Outlays	578,201	303,938	882,139

SBDV 2000-1

FULL COMMITTEE VOTES

Pursuant to the provisions of clause 3(a)(1)(b) of rule XIII of the House of Representatives, the results of each roll call vote on an amendment or on the motion to report, together with the names of those voting for and those voting against, are printed below:

ROLL CALL NO. 1

Date: May 19, 1999.

Measure: Suballocation of Budget Allocations, FY 2000.

Motion by: Mr. Lewis of California.

Description of motion: To approve the suballocation, as amended, and report it to the House.

Results: Adopted 31 yeas to 23 nays.

Members	Voting	Yea
---------	--------	-----

Mr. Aderholt Mr. Bonilla Mr. Callahan Mr. Cunningham

Mr. Dickey Mrs. Emerson Mr. Forbes

Mr. Frelinghuysen Ms. Granger Mr. Hobson

Mr. Istook Mr. Kingston Mr. Knollenberg

Mr. Kolbe Mr. Latham Mr. Lewis

Mr. Miller Mr. Nethercutt

Mrs. Northup

Mr. Packard Mr. Peterson Mr. Rogers

Mr. Skeen Mr. Sununu

Mr. Taylor

Mr. Tiåhrt

Mr. Walsh Mr. Wamp

Mr. Wicker Mr. Wolf Mr. Young

Members Voting Nay

Mr. Boyd Mr. Clyburn Mr. Cramer

Ms. DeLauro Mr. Dicks

Mr. Edwards Mr. Farr

Mr. Hinchey Mr. Hoyer

Ms. Kaptur Ms. Kilpatrick Mrs. Lowey

Mrs. Meek Mr. Mollohan

Mr. Moran Mr. Obey Mr. Olver

Mr. Pastor Ms. Pelosi

Mr. Price Ms. Roybal-Allard

Mr. Sabo Mr. Visclosky