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The 1992 reauthorization (P.L. 102-5686) of the Juvenile Justice and
Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974 (P.L. 93-415) mandated that we study
issues related to juveniles sent to criminal court versus juvenile court. We
agreed with your Committees to obtain data on (1) the frequency with
which juveniles have been sent to criminal court, (2) the juvenile
conviction rates and sentences in criminal court, (3) the dispositions of
juvenile cases in juvenile court, and (4) the conditions of confinement for
juveniles incarcerated in adult correctional facilities. In addition, we
agreed to provide a summary of state laws that specify the circumstances
under which juveniles can be sent to criminal court.

According to the Justice Department’s Office of Juvenile Justice and
Delinquency Prevention (0JJDP), juveniles are committing increasing
numbers of serious crimes such as murder and aggravated assaults. The
number of juvenile court cases involving these offenses increased by

68 percent from 1988 to 1992. Each state has at least one of three
methods—judicial waiver, prosecutor direct filing, statutory exclusion
(state laws requiring the transfer of juveniles for certain
crimes)—available for transferring juveniles to criminal court. In recent
years, many states have changed their laws to expand the criteria under
which juveniles may be sent to criminal court.

Due to the increasing numbers of juveniles sent to criminal court and
legislative changes, juvenile justice advocates, experts, and officials have
raised concerns about the number of juveniles being tried in criminal
court.
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Data limitations precluded us from determining the number of juveniles
sent to criminal court nationwide. However, we were able to obtain some
nationwide data on the number of judicial waivers. In addition, we
obtained some state data on the number of prosecutor direct filing cases.
Data on the number of statutory exclusion cases were not available.

Our analysis of nationwide estimates from the National Center for Juvenile
Justice (NcJ7)! showed that juvenile court judges transferred to criminal
court less than 2 percent of juvenile delinquency cases that were filed in
juvenile court from 1988 through 1992. Over that period, cases transferred
by judges increased from 1.2 to 1.6 percent of formal delinquency cases.?
Additionally, the state data we obtained from five states and the District of
Columbia and the county data we obtained for a few counties in five other
states showed that the number of juvenile cases filed directly in criminal
court in the states that permitted prosecutor direct filing ranged from less
than 1 percent to 13 percent. For example, based on data obtained,
prosecutor direct filing cases represented about 13 percent of juvenile
cases in Arkansas and less than 1 percent in Utah.

Because data were not available on the number of cases excluded by
statute from juvenile court, we reviewed state statutes to identify the
possible impact of the statutes on the juveniles. Our review of state laws
that exclude certain juveniles from juvenile court jurisdiction showed that
the laws primarily focused on serious violent offenses and/or juveniles
with prior court records.

Since 1978, 44 states and the District of Columbia have passed new laws
that affect which juveniles may be sent to criminal court and the process
for their transfer to criminal court. While some of the new state laws are
expected to have an impact on the frequency with which juveniles are sent
to criminal court, the extent of the impact may vary.

In 24 states and the District of Columbia, the new laws have generally
increased the population of juveniles potentially subject to being sent to
criminal court. This was done by either decreasing the age or increasing
the types of offenses for which juveniles may be sent to criminal court. For
example, in California the population of juveniles that juvenile court
judges can waive to criminal court changed from age 16 for any offense to
age 14 for specified offenses and age 16 for other offenses. Also, in New

INCJJ, located in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, is the research division of the National Council of Juvenile
and Family Court Judges.

2See page 7 for a discussion of formal and informal delinquency cases.
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Jersey, offenses such as first degree robbery and some weapons offenses
have been added to the list of offenses that may be judicially waived.

Three states passed laws that tended to decrease the population of
juveniles potentially subject to being sent to criminal court. The other 17
states that passed new laws did not increase the population of juveniles
potentially subject to being sent to criminal court. In these states, the new
laws changed the method in which certain juveniles may be sent to
criminal court. For example, in Minnesota in 1978, a child age 14 or older
charged with any offense could be judicially waived to criminal court.
Currently, however, a child age 16 or older charged with first degree
murder is statutorily excluded from juvenile court rather than eligible for
judicial waiver. Appendix IV summarizes the laws of each state and the
District of Columbia.

According to the Bureau of Justice Statistics’ 1989 and 1990 Offender
Based Transaction Statistics (0BTS) data from seven states,® conviction
rates of juveniles prosecuted in criminal court for serious violent, serious
property, and drug offenses varied within and among states. However,
juveniles in six of those states tended to be convicted. Of those juveniles
convicted, property offenses made up the largest proportion of juvenile
convictions in five of the seven states. Further, in four of seven states
incarceration rates ranged from 62 to 100 percent for all three offenses. Of
those 703 juveniles incarcerated in the seven states, serious violent
offenders and serious property offenders accounted for the same
proportion of juveniles incarcerated, 39 percent. In contrast, some
juveniles convicted of serious violent offenses received probation in five
of the seven states. The percentages varied from 3 percent in California to
50 percent in Vermont.

We were requested to provide data on the disposition of juveniles in
juvenile court. According to 0JJDP data, many juveniles were placed on
probation in juvenile court. In 1992, juveniles were placed on probation in
about 43 percent of approximately 744,000 formal delinquency cases. Of
the remaining 57 percent of juvenile cases, 27 percent were dismissed,

17 percent of the juveniles were placed in a residential treatment program,
and 12 percent of them received some other disposition such as
restitution, fines, or community service. About 1 percent were transferred
to criminal court.

3Appendix I contains an explanation for our selection of the seven states.
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Background

In the four states we visited, juveniles sentenced to adult prisons generally
were to be subject to the same policies and procedures as adults; however,
in three of the four states we visited, younger inmates (typically those
under age 26) were housed in separate prisons. At all the facilities,
juveniles generally were to be provided with the same health services;
afforded the same educational, vocational, and work opportunities; and
provided access to the same recreational facilities as older inmates.

A juvenile is an individual at or below the maximum age of juvenile court
jurisdiction. Established by state statute, the maximum age of juvenile
court jurisdiction is the oldest age at which an individual can be processed
in juvenile court.* Individuals who are above the maximum age of juvenile
court jurisdiction are considered adults and therefore are under criminal
court jurisdiction. In 39 states and the District of Columbia the maximum
age is 17. In 11 states,” the maximum age is either 15 or 16. Except for
Wyoming (where the maximum age dropped from age 18 to 17), the
maximum age had not changed in any state, when comparing the state
laws in 1978 with the laws in 1994.

Although the organization of state juvenile justice systems varies, two
options are generally provided for processing juvenile delinquency
cases—formal and informal. An authorized court official (e.g., juvenile
prosecutor or juvenile probation officer) decides whether to process the
case formally through the court system or informally by diverting the case
from the juvenile court.

For handling formal cases, a petition must be drafted and filed to provide
notice of the offenses that will be pursued and to request the court to
adjudicate—judicially determine (judge) whether or not the youth is a
delinquent offender.® For informal cases there is no formal court petition
or legal instrument requesting the court to adjudicate the youth as a
delinquent. Whether the case is handled formally or informally, juveniles

“Most states have given the juvenile court authority over juveniles who are above the maximum age of
Jjuvenile court jurisdiction. This is called the extended age of juvenile court jurisdiction. It is the age at
which the juvenile court can retain jurisdiction of a juvenile adjudicated as a delinquent. For example,
in Michigan where the maximum age of juvenile court jurisdiction is age 16, a juvenile who is
adjudicated in juvenile court as a delinquent and has a disposition that extends beyond the upper age
of juvenile court jurisdiction would still be under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court until age 21.

°In Connecticut, New York, and North Carolina the maximum age of juvenile court jurisdiction is 15. In
Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, South Carolina, and Texas the
maximum age of juvenile court jurisdiction is 16.

5In the remainder of this report, cases where the intake decision is to proceed formally will be referred
to as formal cases.
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Scope and
Methodology

receive dispositions. Disposition options may include dismissal of the
case, probation, fines or restitution, community service, and placement.

A juvenile who is at or below the maximum age of juvenile court
jurisdiction may be sent to criminal court by one of the following three
methods:

judicial waiver, which allows juvenile court judges to transfer juveniles to
criminal court. Generally, prosecutors initiate judicial waiver by filing a
waiver petition asking the judge to consider the case for waiver;
prosecutor direct filing, which allows prosecutors to decide whether to file
certain cases in juvenile or criminal court;

application of statutory exclusion laws, which specify crimes or juveniles
with certain prior records that are excluded from juvenile court
jurisdiction.

For each method, the prosecutor plays an important role in determining
whether a juvenile will be sent to criminal court. For example, the offense
with which the prosecutor charges the accused can determine whether the
juvenile falls under a state’s criteria for criminal court prosecution.

Juveniles prosecuted in state criminal court are subject to the same state
court procedures and sentencing guidelines as other defendants in
criminal court.

To determine the frequency with which juveniles were sent to criminal
court, we developed estimates of the number of juvenile cases transferred
to criminal court by juvenile court judges (judicial waiver) using the NCJJ
national data—National Juvenile Court Data Archive (NJcDA)—for calendar
years 1988 through 1992. As part of our analysis of judicial waivers, we
developed estimates of the age, sex, race, and offense profiles of juveniles
transferred to criminal court by judges in Arizona, California, Florida,
Missouri, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Utah.

Data limitations precluded us from developing estimates of the total
number of juvenile cases filed directly in criminal court by prosecutors
(prosecutor direct filing) and those juveniles excluded from juvenile court
because of the offense committed and/or prior court records (statutory
exclusion) in those states permitting these methods. We did, however,
contact state court officials in the District of Columbia and 10 states that
we identified as having direct filing laws and analyzed data they provided.
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We analyzed the statutory exclusion laws in the District of Columbia and
37 states that we identified as having these laws to determine the types of
offenses and/or prior court records that exclude juveniles from juvenile
court.”

To analyze the sentences of juveniles tried in criminal court,® we used
criminal court data from the Bureau of Justice Statistics.” We identified
offenses, conviction rates, and incarceration rates in California,
Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Pennsylvania, and Vermont.

To gather prosecutors opinions on data related to the processing of
juveniles in criminal courts, we sent a survey to a nationally representative
sample of district prosecutor offices that dealt with juveniles in juvenile
court.

To determine the conditions of confinement for juveniles in correctional
facilities, we visited seven prisons in Florida, Michigan, North Carolina,
and Ohio.

To provide a summary of state laws governing which juveniles may be sent
to criminal court, we reviewed the statutes for all 50 states and the District
of Columbia.

Appendix I presents more details about our objectives, scope, and
methodology, including a discussion of how we selected the states and
prisons we visited. Our results apply to states and prisons for which we
collected data and cannot be projected to other locations. We did not
verify data provided by the states. We did our work from May 1993
through April 1995 in accordance with generally accepted government
auditing standards. Since no federal agency has responsibility for the
issues addressed in this report, we did not obtain comments on a draft of
this report. However, we did discuss our results with NCJJ and 0JJDP
officials and, where appropriate, incorporated their comments.

"An analysis of state laws under which juveniles may be sent to criminal court focused on the laws in
effect during calendar year 1978 (Youth in Adult Courts: Between Two Worlds, Hamparian, 1982). We
used this study as the baseline for our analysis of the changes that were made in the state laws
regarding the basis on which juveniles may be sent to criminal court. Our analysis focused on the laws
passed through 1994, some of which were not in effect until 1995.

SWe classified cases as juveniles on the basis of the defendants’ age at the time of arrest because data
were not available for the defendants’ age at the time of offense.

“The Bureau’s dataset did not contain all dispositions occurring in a given year, only those reported to
the state and for which the state had a previous arrest reported.
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Limited Data
Available Indicated
Relatively Few
Juveniles Sent to
Criminal Court

Limited nationwide and state data existed on the total number of juvenile
cases sent to criminal court. However, we obtained information on the
number of juvenile cases sent to criminal court by judicial waiver and
some information on the number sent by prosecutor direct filing. Since
data on statutory exclusions were not available, we analyzed state statutes
to identify the possible impact of the statutes on juveniles.

According to our analysis of NcJJ data, the rate at which juvenile court
judges sent formal delinquency cases to criminal court has remained less
than 2 percent from 1988 to 1992. Additionally, data available from 5
states, the District of Columbia, and a few counties in 5 other states on the
number of prosecutor direct filing cases filed in criminal court annually
showed that it ranged from 4 cases in one state to about 7,200 cases in
another state. Our analysis of statutory exclusion laws indicated that the
laws generally established specific criteria that focused on juveniles

(1) charged with serious violent offenses and/or (2) with previous court
records. In addition, our analysis showed that legislation passed in the last
16 years included two primary types of changes: (1) in 24 states and the
District of Columbia legislative changes tended to increase the population
of juveniles who may be sent to criminal court and (2) in 17 other states,
recent legislation changed the method in which certain juveniles may be
sent to criminal court (e.g., from the judicial waiver to the prosecutor
direct filing).

The results of our national survey of state prosecutors suggested that in
most prosecutorial offices, judicial waivers accounted for a higher
percentage of juveniles arriving in criminal court than direct filings or
statutory exclusions.

Transfer and Sentencing of
Juveniles

We identified (1) judicial waiver laws in 47 states and the District of
Columbia, (2) prosecutor direct filing laws in 10 states and the District of
Columbia, and (3) one or more statutory exclusion laws in 37 states and
the District of Columbia.

We also identified 21 states with provisions that allow criminal court
Jjudges to transfer cases from criminal court to juvenile court under
circumstances specified in the law (reverse waiver). For example, in
Arkansas, when a prosecutor directly files a case in criminal court, the
criminal court judge may remand the case to juvenile court. In addition,
we identified 19 states that allow juveniles prosecuted and convicted in
criminal court to receive dispositions as a juvenile under specified
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circumstances. For example, in California a juvenile convicted in criminal
court may receive a disposition as a juvenile if the California Youth
Authority determines that the juvenile is amenable to treatment.

See table 1 for a summary of the state statutes and appendix IV for a
detailed summary of statutes in all 50 states and the District of Columbia
that govern which juveniles may be sent to criminal court.

|
Table 1: Summary of Juvenile Transfer and Sentencing Provisions

Juveniles
convicted in
criminal court
could receive a

Prosecutor direct Statutory exclusion disposition as a
State Judicial waiver filing laws Reverse waiver juvenile
Alabama X X
Alaska X X X
Arizona X
Arkansas X X X
California X
Colorado X X X
Connecticut X
Delaware X X
District of X X X
Columbia
Florida X X X X
Georgia X X X X X
Hawaii X X X
|ldaho X X
Illinois X X X
Indiana X X
lowa X X X
Kansas X X
Kentucky X X X X
Louisiana X X X
Maine X X
Maryland X X X
Massachusetts X X
Michigan X X X
Minnesota X X
Mississippi X X X

(continued)
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Juveniles
convicted in
criminal court
could receive a
Prosecutor direct Statutory exclusion disposition as a
State Judicial waiver filing laws Reverse waiver juvenile

Missouri X X

Montana X X

Nebraska X X

Nevada

New Hampshire

X | X | X
x
x

New Jersey

©
x

New Mexico

New York X X X

North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon

>

Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee

X | X | X | X | X | X

>

Texas
Utah
Vermont

X | X | X | X [ X
x

Virginia

X | X | X | X

Washington

x
x

West Virginia

Wisconsin

X IX [ X | X |IX|X|X|X|X|X|X|X|X|X|X|X|X]|X

Wyoming X X

Legend: x indicates the transfer and sentencing provisions allowed by each state.

aNew Mexico does not have a judicial waiver process. However, certain juveniles, who are called
“youthful offenders,” can be subject to adult or juvenile sanctions in juvenile court.

Source: GAO review of state statutes.

Page 9 GAO/GGD-95-170 Juvenile Case Dispositions



B-259800

Judicial Waiver Rate Has
Increased From 1988
Through 1992

The percent of formal delinquency cases judicially waived to criminal
court (judicial waiver rate) increased by 33 percent from 1.2 percent in
1988 to 1.6 percent in 1992, which represented a growth from about 7,000
to almost 12,000 cases a year, as shown in table 2. This increase occurred
while the total number of formal delinquency cases increased by about
31 percent; the number of waived cases increased about 68 percent.

Table 2: Number of Formal
Delinquency Cases Nationwide and the
Number and Percentage of Cases
Judicially Waived to Criminal Court

Number of Number of formal
formal delinquency cases
delinquency judicially waived to Judicial
Year cases criminal court waiver rate 2
1988 569,596 7,005 1.2%
1989 608,593 8,350 1.4
1990 654,742 8,708 1.3
1991 689,328 10,933 1.6
1992 743,673 11,748 1.6

Note: The broad offense categories used in our analysis included person, property, drugs, and
public order as defined by OJJDP. The person category includes criminal homicide, forcible
rape, robbery, aggravated assault, simple assault, and other person offenses—such as
kidnapping and harassment. The property category includes burglary, larceny, motor vehicle
theft, arson, vandalism, stolen property offenses, trespassing, and other property offenses—such
as fraud, counterfeiting, and embezzlement. The drug category includes unlawful sale, purchase,
distribution, manufacture, cultivation, transport, possession or use of a controlled or prohibited
substance or drug. The public order category includes weapons offenses, nonviolent sex
offenses, and liquor law violations.

@The waiver rate is the ratio of the number of waived cases to the number of formal delinquency
cases. The percentage of all delinquency cases which were handled formally varied across
states.

Source: Developed by GAO from NJCDA data.

Data showed that judicial waiver rates varied by offense type, as shown in
table 3. The judicial waiver rate for person offenses in 1992 was

2.4 percent in contrast to the waiver rate for property offenses, which was
1.3 percent. Therefore, judges were more likely to waive cases to criminal
court involving juveniles charged with person offenses than juveniles
charged with property offenses in 1992. While the waiver rates for all the
offenses increased from 1988 through 1992, the waiver rates for drug
offenses increased the most; however, the rate decreased between 1991
and 1992.1

UWe used juvenile court data collected annually by NCJJ to determine the number of juvenile cases
processed in criminal court due to judicial waiver. Each year, NCJJ collects juvenile court processing
data from various states and jurisdictions and assigns weights to the data, which permits projecting
the data to produce national estimates of cases disposed by all state juvenile justice systems.
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Table 3: Judicial Waiver Rate by
Offense

Offense 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992
Person 1.9% 2.0% 2.1% 2.4% 2.4%
Property 1.2 1.2 1.1 1.2 1.3
Drugs 1.5 2.8 2.7 4.4 3.1
Public order 0.5 0.5 0.6 0.7 0.8

Source: Developed by GAO using NJCDA data.

While the chances of juvenile cases being waived to criminal court were
highest for juveniles charged with person and drug offenses, property
offenders made up the largest proportion of waived cases, as shown in
table 4. This was due to the prevalence of property offenses versus person
or drug offenses. For example, NcJJ data showed that in 1992, referrals to
juvenile court were about 401,000 or 54 percent for property offenses,
about 165,000 or 22 percent for person offenses, and 46,000 or 6 percent
for drug offenses.

Table 4: Percent of Judicially Waived
Cases by Offense Type, From 1988
Through 1992

Offense 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992
Person 29% 28% 32% 32% 34%
Property 53 49 46 44 45
Drugs 11 16 15 17 12
Public order 8 7 8 7 9

Note: Figures may not add to 100 percent due to rounding.

Source: Developed by GAO from NCJJ data.

Also shown in table 4, the offense profile of judicially waived cases
changed from 1988 to 1992. For example, person offenses increased from
29 percent of the cases waived in 1988 to 34 percent in 1992. In addition,
property offense cases decreased from 53 percent of the cases waived in
1988 to 45 percent in 1992.

Similar to the offense profile, the demographic profile of juvenile cases
waived to criminal court had changed slightly from 1988 to 1992 (see table
5). For example, the percentage of waived cases for juveniles age 16 or
older decreased from 93 percent in 1988 to 88 percent in 1992. Also, the
racial makeup of juveniles whose cases were waived changed since 1988
when about 54 percent were white, 43 percent were black, and 2 percent
were of other races. In 1992, about 47 percent of juveniles whose cases
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were waived were white, 50 percent were black, and 3 percent were of
other races.

Table 5: Percent of Waived Juvenile
Cases, by Sex, Age, and Race, 1988
Through 1992

Sex Age Race
Year Male Female 16 or older White Black Other
1988 96% 4% 93% 54% 43% 2%
1989 95 5 89 49 49 2
1990 96 4 90 45 52 3
1991 96 4 91 47 52 2
1992 96 4 88 47 50 3

Note: Percentages may not add up to 100 percent due to rounding. Source: Developed by GAO
from NCJJ’s data archive.

Analysis of Waiver Rates

Variables

To provide perspective on patterns of waiver rates across the six states,
we examined data on the number of juveniles charged with violent,
property, and drug offenses. We used these three offenses because the
number of cases for each offense allowed comparisons. Our analysis
focused on the potential effects on waiver rates for five variables—age
(for six states), sex (for six states), race (for six states), nature of locality
(metropolitan or nonmetropolitan, for four states), and number of prior
referrals (for five states).!! We examined each of the variables separately
because we could not control for variables for which data were not
available and because of the small number of cases waived in each offense
type within the state. (Tables I1.3, I1.6, I1.9, I1.12, 11.15, and II.18 contain the
data used in our analysis.)

Age - In the six states we examined, juveniles 16 years or older were more
likely to have their cases waived for all three offense types.

Gender - Males were more likely than females to have their cases waived
within each offense type in the six states we analyzed. The extent of the
difference again varied by state.

Race - Blacks were more likely than whites to have their cases waived for
all three offenses in four of the six states we examined.

UThe states differed because of the availability of data. Utah did not have a sufficient number of cases
to be included in this analysis. For the other six NCJJ states, all were included for age, sex, and race;
Florida, Missouri, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina had data for metropolitan/nonmetropolitan
locality; and Arizona, Florida, Missouri, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina had information on prior
referrals.
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Locality - In the four NcJJ states with data on type of court location, some
small differences existed but were not consistent across offense types
within the same state.

Prior Referrals - In the five states we examined, waiver rates generally
increased with the number of prior referrals for all five states and most
offense types.

Appendix II contains data on the percent of cases waived, the
demographic characteristics for juveniles in the seven states, and a
detailed discussion of our analysis of waiver rates.

Judicial Waiver Criteria

Whether a juvenile case is eligible for judicial waiver depends on the state.
Forty-seven states and the District of Columbia have judicial waiver laws,
and each state establishes different criteria for which cases may be
waived. The criteria often include specific age and offense restrictions as
well as factors that the judge must consider related to the juvenile’s case.
For example, juvenile judges in Florida can waive a case to criminal court
involving a juvenile age 14 or older for any offense if there is a finding that
the juvenile should be transferred after considering certain factors;
whereas judges in Maryland can waive a case involving a juvenile age 15 or
older for any offense and a juvenile of any age charged with a crime
punishable by death or life imprisonment if there is a finding that the
juvenile is unfit for juvenile rehabilitative measures. In addition, the U.S.
Supreme Court in an appendix to Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541
(1966),'? outlined certain factors that the juvenile court judge would
consider when making waiver decisions under the specific statute. The
factors from the 1966 court case included

seriousness of the alleged offense to the community and whether the
protection of the community requires waiver;

whether the offense was committed in an aggressive, violent,
premeditated, or willful manner;

whether the offense was committed against persons or against property,
with greater weight being given to offenses against persons, especially if
personal injury resulted,;

prosecutive merit of the complaint;

whether the juveniles’ associates in the offenses were adults;

2The U.S. Supreme Court in Kent also set forth a number of procedural safeguards to protect the
interests of the child—the right to a hearing that meets the essentials of due process and fair
treatment, representation by counsel, access by the juvenile’s attorney to the juvenile’s social record,
and a statement of reasons in support of the waiver order if the juvenile case is waived.
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sophistication and maturity of the juvenile;

juveniles’ record and previous history;

protection of the public; and

likelihood of reasonable rehabilitation of the juvenile by the use of
procedures, services, and facilities that are available to the juvenile court.

Many states have incorporated these factors into their juvenile codes
either verbatim or with minor modifications. In interviews with judges in
seven states and in our nationwide survey of prosecutors, we asked which
factors from a list (based on factors previously listed) they were most
likely to consider when making waiver decisions. The factors chosen most
often by judges and prosecutors were the seriousness of the offense, the
juveniles’ previous record and history, and whether the juvenile was
amenable to rehabilitation.

While we were unable to get an estimate of the total number of waiver
petitions filed by prosecutors, information collected in our survey of
prosecutors suggested that more than half of the requests for judicial
waivers filed in calendar year 1993 were granted.'> We are not certain of
the reliability of these figures because their responses may have been on
the basis of impressions rather than data. See appendix II for additional
data on judicial waivers in the seven states.

Limited Data Indicated the
Use of Prosecutor Direct
Filing Varies

State data and data for only some counties were available in the District of
Columbia and 10 states that allow prosecutor direct filing. Table 6 shows
the available data that we obtained on prosecutor direct filings, including
statewide data from five states and the District of Columbia. Data on
direct filing in the other five states were available only from certain
counties.

13See appendix I for survey responses and confidence intervals.
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Table 6: Frequency of Prosecutor Direct Filing

Number of cases Total number of

Time directly filed in cases handled in

Jurisdiction Principal city period criminal court juvenile court
Arkansas N/A 1993 1,327 10,044
Colorado N/A 1993 1522 11,980
District of
Columbia® N/A 1993 15 3,029
Florida N/A 1991 7,232 75,976
Georgia®

Chatham

County Savannah 1993 15 3,800¢

De Kalb

County Suburb of Atlanta 1993 16 10,234
Louisiana

Caddo

Parish Shreveport 1993 8 415

Orleans

Parish New Orleans 1993 63 1,444

Jefferson Suburb of New

Parish® Orleans 1993 7 2,000
Michigan

Wayne

County Detroit 1993 82 8,402
Nebraska

Douglas

County Omaha 1993 104 1,800
Utah N/A 1993 4 12,122
Vermont N/A 1993 108 1,369
Wyoming

Laramie

County Cheyenne 1993 6] 198

aData represent September 1993 through July 1994 time period.

®The District of Columbia provided data on only the number of juveniles convicted in criminal
court.

°County data represent cases filed in criminal court by judicial waiver, prosecutor direct filing,
and statutory exclusion.

9This is an annual estimate.
¢Data represent prosecutor direct filing and statutory exclusion.

Source: Developed by GAO using data provided by state and local court officials in jurisdiction
listed.
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While the data provided by state and local court officials were inconsistent
and incomplete, (e.g., lack of statewide data and time periods were
different) they indicated that the frequency of using direct filing varied
throughout the states that have direct filing laws. Data provided by
juvenile court officials on the number of delinquency cases filed in these
jurisdictions compared with data provided by criminal court officials on
the number of cases directly filed by prosecutors showed that direct filing
cases represented a larger percentage of juvenile cases in some states than
in others. For example, in Florida and Arkansas prosecutor direct filing
cases represented about 10 percent of juveniles cases, and in Colorado
and Wayne County, Michigan they represented about 1 percent.

Direct filing laws in 10 states and the District of Columbia generally
focused on felony offenses for juveniles over an age specified in each
state’s laws. However, juveniles age 16 in Nebraska and Vermont and age
17 in Wyoming can be direct filed in criminal court for any offense. In
jurisdictions with direct filing laws, prosecutors had discretion to decide
whether to file the case in juvenile or criminal court. The extent to which
prosecutors exercise their discretion was exemplified by data provided by
criminal court officials in Arkansas and Wayne County, Michigan. These
data showed that many of the cases eligible for direct filing remained in
juvenile court. For example, in Arkansas 2,756 cases were eligible to be
filed in criminal court in 1992. However, during that period, prosecutors
directly filed about 45 percent of the cases in criminal court. In addition, in
Wayne County 146 juvenile cases were eligible to be filed in criminal court
in 1992. However, during that period less than half the cases, 61 (or

42 percent), were filed in criminal court.

Frequency of Juvenile
Cases Statutorily Excluded
From Juvenile Court
Unknown

Data were not available on the number of cases excluded by law from
juvenile court jurisdiction.!* Without state data, we were unable to
determine the frequency of statutory exclusion cases sent to criminal
court. We were, however, able to analyze the laws to determine the
conditions under which juveniles were excluded from juvenile court (see
table 7 for our analysis). According to our analysis, statutory exclusion
laws focused primarily on juveniles charged with serious violent offenses
and/or juveniles with previous juvenile or criminal court records. In

1Using 1990 data, NCJJ estimates that in 11 states where the maximum age of juvenile court
jurisdiction is age 15 or 16, approximately 176,000 cases involving persons age 16 and 17 are
automatically charged in criminal court each year because they are defined as adults by the state.
However, there is no estimate on the number of juveniles at or below the maximum age of juvenile
court jurisdiction that are charged in criminal court due to their offense and/or prior record.
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addition, 15 states also excluded one or more other serious offense (e.g., a
child age 16 or older carrying a handgun without a license in Indiana).

In 17 of the 37 states with statutory exclusion laws, the laws excluded
juveniles charged with serious violent offenses and juveniles with prior
court records (repeat offenders) from juvenile court. For example, in
Pennsylvania, any juvenile charged with murder is excluded from juvenile
court as well as any juvenile who has been previously found guilty in a
criminal proceeding. In 13 of the 37 states, the focus of the statutory
exclusion laws are to exclude juveniles charged with serious violent
offenses from juvenile court. For example, in New York, any juvenile age
13 or older charged with murder in the second degree is to be prosecuted
in criminal court. In addition, New York excludes juveniles age 14 or older
from juvenile court for a list of serious violent crimes that include assault,
rape, and manslaughter, each in the first degree. New York does not have
any exclusion provisions on the basis of the juvenile’s prior record. In 7 of
the 37 states and in the District of Columbia, the focus of the statutory
exclusion laws is to exclude juveniles with prior criminal court records
from juvenile court jurisdiction. These laws apply to all juveniles with
specified prior records (i.e., adult court convictions) regardless of their
offenses. For example, in Virginia, any juvenile previously convicted as an
adult is excluded from juvenile court jurisdiction regardless of the
offense.®

While statutory exclusion laws in most states focus on serious violent
offenses and prior records, in 15 states one or more other serious offenses
such as burglary, weapons, and drug offenses are excluded. For example,
in Maryland using, wearing, carrying, or transporting a firearm during a
drug trafficking offense would exclude a juvenile age 16 or older from
juvenile court jurisdiction.

For those juveniles who were previously convicted and served their sentences in facilities, the
likelihood would be small that they would still be under the maximum age of jurisdiction if they were
subsequently charged with another crime.
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Table 7: Conditions Under Which |
Juvenile Cases Were Excluded From Laws focus on exclusion
Juvenile Court for serious violent Laws focus on exclusion
State offenses due to prior record
Alabama X X
Alaska X
Connecticut X X
Delaware X
District of X
Columbia
Florida X X
Georgia X X
Hawaii X X
Idaho X X
Illinois X X
Indiana X X
lowa X
Kansas X
Kentucky X
Louisiana X
Maine X
Maryland X
Minnesota X X
Mississippi X X
Missouri X
Montana X
Nevada X X
New Hampshire X
New Mexico X
New York X
North Carolina X
Ohio X X
Oklahoma X X
Oregon X
Pennsylvania X X
Rhode Island X X
South Carolina X
Tennessee X
Utah X X
Vermont X
Virginia X

(continued)
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Laws focus on exclusion

for serious violent Laws focus on exclusion
State offenses due to prior record
Washington X X
Wisconsin X

Note: While statutory exclusion laws generally focus on juveniles with serious violent offenses
and/or prior court records, 15 states also exclude juveniles with one or more serious offenses
from juvenile court jurisdiction. These states are Alabama, Alaska, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawalii,
Idaho, lllinois, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, Oklahoma, South Carolina, and
Vermont.

Legend: x indicates the conditions for which each state excluded juveniles from juvenile court.

Source: GAO review of state statutes.

Changes in State Laws May
Affect the Number of
Juveniles Sent to Criminal
Court and the Method for
Sending Certain Juveniles

Since 1978, 44 states and the District of Columbia have passed laws that
have an effect on which juveniles may be sent to criminal court. These
laws could affect the number of juveniles sent to criminal court; however,
the impact may vary. In 24 of these states and the District of Columbia, the
laws have tended to increase the population of juveniles potentially
subject to being sent to criminal court. In three states, the population of
juveniles subject to being sent to criminal court decreased. In 17 states,
the laws changed the method in which certain juveniles are sent to
criminal court.

In 24 states'® and the District of Columbia the laws that identify juveniles
who may be sent to criminal court increased the population of juveniles
potentially subject to being sent to criminal court. For example, in 1978,
California law allowed juvenile court judges to waive the case of any
juvenile age 16 or older. Since then, a law was passed that allows juvenile
court judges to also waive cases involving juveniles 14 or older for a list of
specific offenses. This change increased the number of juveniles that are
subject to being sent to criminal court. Also, in 1978, North Dakota law
allowed judges to waive the case of a juvenile age 16 years or older
charged with a “crime or public offense.” Since then, a new law was
passed that allows juvenile court judges to also waive cases involving
juveniles 14 years or older charged with committing an act that involves
the infliction or threat of serious bodily harm. New Mexico, South Dakota,
and Wyoming changed their laws, which had the effect of decreasing the

I6The states that have passed laws that increased the population of juveniles who may be sent to
criminal court are Alabama, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho,
Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, New Jersey, North Carolina, North
Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin.
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population of juveniles potentially subject to being sent to criminal court.
For example, in 1978, Wyoming law allowed judges to waive the case of a
child of any age for any offense to criminal court. Currently, only cases
involving children age 13 or older can be waived to criminal court.

In the remaining 17 states,'” the new laws changed the method in which
certain juvenile cases may be sent to criminal court but did not increase
the size of the potential population of juveniles that may be sent to
criminal court. In general, these laws have changed the process for
sending juveniles to criminal court. For example, in 1988, Michigan passed
a law that gives prosecutors the discretion to directly file cases in criminal
court involving juveniles who are age 15 or older and are charged with a
list of specific crimes. Prior to this law, these cases would be filed initially
in juvenile court, and the prosecutors would have to request a waiver
hearing for those cases they believed should be sent to criminal court.
During the waiver hearing, the juvenile court judge would decide whether
to waive the case to criminal court.

Maryland also changed the process by excluding from juvenile court
juveniles age 16 or older charged with certain specified violent crimes and
other serious crimes. Previously, the juvenile court judge decided whether
these cases should be sent to criminal court; however, state law now
establishes the criteria by which certain juvenile cases are sent to criminal
court.

Prosecutor Survey
Indicated Judicial Waiver
Used Most

We surveyed a sample of prosecutors’ offices to obtain information on the
estimated percent of all indictments filed against juveniles in criminal
court that were the result of judicial waiver, direct filings, and statutory
exclusions. The survey results suggested that in most prosecutorial
offices, judicial waivers accounted for a higher percentage of juveniles
arriving in criminal court than direct filings or statutory exclusions.'
Further, we estimated that in about 60 percent of the offices only judicial
waivers were used. However, the results are difficult to interpret because
of missing data and potentially inconsistent completion by the
respondents.

"The states that have passed laws that changed the method in which certain juveniles may be sent to
criminal court are Alaska, Colorado, Hawaii, Illinois, lowa, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota,
Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Utah, and Washington.

18See appendix I for survey responses and confidence intervals.
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Juveniles Prosecuted
in Criminal Court for
Certain Offenses
Tended to Be
Convicted and
Incarcerated

Our analysis of 1989 and 1990 criminal court data for seven states
indicated that most juveniles prosecuted in criminal court in each state
were convicted. Further, most juveniles were convicted of property
offenses. When juveniles were sentenced in criminal court for serious
offenses, most were incarcerated.

Most Juveniles Prosecuted
for Serious Offenses in
Criminal Court Were
Convicted in Six of Seven
States

Our analysis of conviction rates in seven states—California, Minnesota,
Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Pennsylvania, and Vermont—showed that
states conviction rates for juveniles prosecuted in criminal court, during
1989 and 1990 combined, varied for serious violent, serious property, and
drug offenses.!” For example, as shown in table 8, the conviction rate for
serious violent offenses in Missouri was 50 percent. Conviction rates for
serious property offenses in Pennsylvania and Vermont were 63 percent
and 97 percent, respectively.

|
Table 8: Conviction Rates and the Number of Juveniles Prosecuted in Criminal Court in Seven States for Selected Offenses

in 1989 and 1990

Serious violent offenses

Serious property offenses Drug offenses

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent
State prosecuted convicted prosecuted convicted prosecuted convicted
California 126 87% 71 78% 141 75%
Minnesota 51 100 99 97 2 100
Missouri 24 50 24 67 13 54
Nebraska 78 77 124 81 59 81
New York 75 32 76 26 85 27
Pennsylvania 118 83 414 63 18 83
Vermont 25 96 177 97 9 100

Note: This table includes the most prevalent offense types for which juveniles are prosecuted, on
the basis of criminal court data.

Source: Developed by GAO from OBTS data.

To provide some perspective on how juveniles were treated as compared
with others prosecuted in criminal court, we compared juvenile conviction

YUsing OBTS data, we categorized offense types into serious violent, serious property, and drugs.
Serious violent offenses include murder, nonnegligent manslaughter, rape, robbery, aggravated assault,
and other violent offenses (e.g., sexual assault and kidnapping). Serious property offenses include
burglary, fraud, forgery, embezzlement, larceny, motor vehicle theft, and arson. Drug offenses include
drug possession and trafficking.
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rates with the conviction rates of “other youth”® age 16 or 17 and young
adults ages 18 to 24 (see tables III.1 and III.2 in app. III for conviction rates
for other youth and young adults). The data for other youth and young
adults includes a broader range of crimes within crime types (than
juveniles’ crimes) because all youth and young adults crimes are
prosecuted in criminal court. Some juvenile crimes are tried in criminal
court because of the severity of juveniles’ offenses or prior records. Our
analysis of the two states, Missouri and New York, which included the
other youth population,?' showed that in Missouri, juvenile conviction
rates were higher than the rates of other youth (persons of age 17). For
example, the conviction rate for juveniles prosecuted for serious property
offenses in Missouri was 67 percent compared with 38 percent for other
youth. In New York, conviction rates were lower for juveniles than they
were for other youth (persons age 16 and 17). For example, the conviction
rate for juveniles prosecuted in New York for serious property offenses
was 26 percent compared with 64 percent for other youth.

A comparison of conviction rates in the states we analyzed for juveniles
and young adults (persons age 18 through 24) showed that generally,
juveniles were, for some offenses, as likely as young adults to be convicted
in criminal court. Finally, juvenile conviction rates for serious violent,
serious property, and drug offenses were generally similar to the rates for
young adults in the states we analyzed, except for New York. For example,
the conviction rate for serious property offenses in Minnesota was

97 percent for juveniles compared with 89 percent for young adults. Also,
the conviction rate for drug offenses in Pennsylvania was 83 percent for
juveniles compared with 81 percent for young adults.

Our analysis of juvenile conviction offenses showed, in five? of seven
states, that property offenses made up the largest proportion of juvenile
convictions in criminal court, representing between 36 and 66 percent of
convictions, as shown in table 9. In California and New York, violent
offenses accounted for the largest proportion of juvenile convictions.

20¢Other youth” are individuals beyond the maximum age of juvenile court jurisdiction in their state
and are below the age 18.

21Unlike the other five states where the maximum age of juvenile court jurisdiction is 17, in Missouri,
the maximum age is 16, and in New York it is 15. Therefore, in Missouri other youth are individuals of
age 17, and in New York, other youth are individuals of age 16 and 17. In both states, these other
youths are legally considered as adults and are under the original jurisdiction of the criminal court.

2The five states where property offenses made up the largest proportion of juvenile convictions in
criminal court were Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, and Vermont.
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Table 9: Percent of Juveniles
Convicted in Criminal Court by
Offense for 1989 and 1990

Percent Percent

convicted convicted Percent

Number of of serious of serious convicted

juveniles violent property of drug

State convicted offenses offenses offenses

California 280 39% 20% 38%

Minnesota 165 31 58 1
Missouri 44 27 36 16
Nebraska 277 23 38 18
New York 78 31 26 29
Pennsylvania 409 24 64 4
Vermont 260 9 66 3

Note: Percents may not equal 100 percent due to rounding and the exclusion of such offense
types as weapons, indeterminate property, public order, and traffic.

Source: Developed by GAO using OBTS data.

Similar to juveniles, the largest percentage of other youth and young
adults convicted in criminal court were property offenders. (See tables
II1.3 and II1.4 in app. III for conviction offenses of other youth and young
adults.) In California and New York, the largest proportion of young adults
convicted were drug offenders. For example, 37 percent of young adults in
California and 33 percent in New York were convicted of drug offenses.

Most Juveniles Sentenced
in Criminal Court for
Serious Offenses Were
Incarcerated

In four® of seven states we analyzed, over half of the juveniles sentenced
in criminal court for serious violent, serious property, or drug offenses
were incarcerated in each state. Incarceration rates® for these offenses
varied among states, as shown in table 10. In Vermont, incarceration rates
for these offenses were 33 percent or less. In addition, in Missouri the
incarceration rate for drug offenders was 43 percent. Also, in Pennsylvania
the incarceration rate for serious property offenders was 10 percent.

Among the 7 states, a total of 703 juveniles was sentenced to incarceration
in the 3 offense types during 1989 and 1990.

ZThese states are California, Minnesota, Nebraska, and New York.

*Incarceration rates equals the percentages of those juveniles convicted who were sentenced to jail or
prison as compared with all juveniles convicted who received any sentence, including probation or jail.
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Table 10: Percent of Juveniles Incarcerated and the Total Number of Juveniles Sentenced for Serious Violent, Serious
Property, and Drug Offenses in 1989 and 1990

Serious violent offenses Serious property offenses Drug offenses

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent
State sentenced incarcerated sentenced incarcerated sentenced incarcerated
California 98 90% 57 95% 101 93%
Minnesota 45 98 84 92 2 100
Missouri 10 80 16 63 7 43
Nebraska 46 93 1083 66 47 66
New York 18 67 10 70 13 62
Pennsylvania 81 89 257 10 15 100
Vermont 14 29 149 23 9 33

Source: Developed by GAO from OBTS data.

To determine whether juveniles were incarcerated at rates similar to
others in criminal court, we compared juvenile sentences with those of
other youth and young adults. (See tables III.5 and III.6 in app. III for
incarceration rates for other youth and young adults.) In the two states
with an “other youth population,” Missouri and New York, juvenile
incarceration rates for serious violent and serious property offenses were
higher than incarceration rates for these offenses for other youth. For
example, in Missouri, 80 percent of juveniles sentenced were incarcerated
for serious violent offenses compared with 60 percent of other youth. The
Jjuvenile incarceration rates for drug offenses were lower than the rates for
other youth in Missouri and about equal to the rates for other youth in
New York.

Finally, we found no consistent pattern when comparing juvenile and
young adult incarceration rates (see table II1.6 in app. III). For some
offenses juvenile incarceration rates were higher than young adult
incarceration rates, while for other offenses juvenile rates were lower. For
example, in New York, the incarceration rate for drug offenses was lower
for juveniles, 62 percent, compared with 80 percent for young adults. In
contrast, in Nebraska, the incarceration rates for serious violent offenses
were higher for juveniles, 93 percent, compared with 78 percent for young
adults.

In the seven states, the proportion of juveniles incarcerated for serious

property offenses was the same as the proportion incarcerated for serious
violent offenses but varied among the states. Drug offenders made up a
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smaller proportion of the total number of juveniles incarcerated (see table
11). In contrast, drug offenders made up the largest proportion of other
youth and young adults incarcerated. (See tables II1.7 and IIL.8 in app. III
for the total number of other youth and young adults incarcerated.)

Table 11: Total Number of Juveniles
Incarcerated for Serious Violent
Offenses, Serious Property Offenses,
and Drug Offenses in 1989 and 1990

Number of Number of

juveniles juveniles Number of

incarcerated incarcerated juveniles

for serious for serious incarcerated

violent property for drug

State offenses offenses offenses
California 88 54 94
Minnesota 44 77 2
Missouri 8 10 3
Nebraska 43 68 31
New York 12 7 8
Pennsylvania 72 26 15
Vermont 4 34 3
Total 271 276 156

Source: Developed by GAO using OBTS data.

Probation and Sentences
Other Than Incarceration
Received by Juveniles
Tried in Criminal Court for
Serious Violent, Serious
Property, and Drug
Offenses

While most juveniles sentenced in criminal court were incarcerated, some
juveniles also received probation and other sentences in the seven states
we analyzed. In fact, in five of the states, some juveniles convicted of
serious violent offenses received probation sentences. As shown in table
12, the percentages varied from 3 percent in California to 50 percent in

Vermont.
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Table 12: Percent of Juveniles Convicted in Criminal Court Receiving Sentences of Probation or Sentences Other Than
Incarceration in Seven States for Selected Offenses in 1989 and 1990

Serious violent Serious property Drugs

State Probation

Other Other Other
sentences Probation sentences Probation sentences

California

3%

7% 5% 0% 6% 0%

Minnesota

0

8 0 0 0

Missouri

20

38 0 43 14

Nebraska

4

23 8 15 0

New York

33

20 10 31 8

Pennsylvania

6

=1 Oo|Oo|Oo N

2 3 0 0

Vermont

50

21 25 46 11 22

Probation Was the
Most Common
Disposition by
Juvenile Court

Note: Other sentences included (1) no court disposition or (2) disposition or sentencing was
deferred or suspended. Percentages do not add to 100 percent because incarceration rates were
not included.

Source: Developed by GAO using OBTS data.

Additionally, juveniles convicted of serious property or drug offenses in
four states received probation at higher rates than juveniles convicted of
serious violent offenses. Overall, while juveniles convicted of serious
violent, serious property, and drug offenses generally did not receive fines
as their sentences, in two states, a significant percentage of these juveniles
were sentenced to pay fines. In Pennsylvania, 84 percent of juveniles
convicted of serious property offenses were fined, and in Vermont,

33 percent of juveniles convicted of drug offenses were fined.

According to the literature, criminal court judges consider the severity of
the offenses and the prior offense history of the juvenile in making their
sentencing decisions. However, data limitations precluded us from
considering the prior offense history in our analysis.

Our analysis of NcJJ data showed that probation was the most widely

used disposition in the juvenile court. In 1992, in about 43 percent of
approximately 744,000 formal delinquency cases,? juveniles were placed
on probation. In addition, probation was the most common disposition for
all offense types. A probation disposition involves the court monitoring the
juvenile’s behavior, helping the juvenile find a job, arranging in-home or
out-of-home care, or promoting wholesome leisure time activities. Of the

%0f the nearly 1.5 million delinquency cases filed in 1992, about half (743,673) were handled through a
formal process.
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57 percent of juveniles not placed on probation in 1992, about 27 percent
of their cases were dismissed, 12 percent received some other disposition,
and 17 percent received placement (e.g., were placed in a residential
treatment program), as shown in table 13. Finally, the distribution of
formal dispositions was similar during the 5-year period, 1988 through
1992.

Table 13: Disposition of Formal
Delinquency Cases, by Percentage,
1988 Through 1992

Disposition 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992
Transfer 1.2% 1.4% 1.3% 1.6% 1.6%
Placement 18.4 19.5 19.2 17.3 17.0
Probation 43.9 44.4 43.5 43.6 42.5
Dismissed 26.6 24.0 25.8 26.5 27.1
Other® 9.9 10.6 10.2 11.0 11.8

@Disposition of other may include fines, restitution, community service, and referrals outside the
court for services with minimal or no further court involvement anticipated.

Source: Developed by GAO from NCJJ data.

As shown in table 14, in 1992, formal cases received various dispositions at
similar rates for each offense type. For example, regardless of the offense,
about 40 percent of juveniles were placed on probation.

Table 14: Dispositions of Formal
Cases, by Percentage and Offense
Type in 1992

Public
Disposition Person Property Drugs order
Transfer 2.4% 1.3% 3.1% 0.8%
Placement 17.6 15.0 19.3 21.8
Probation 39.2 46.1 39.2 37.2
Dismissed 31.2 24.8 29.8 27.9
Other? 9.6 12.9 8.6 12.4

Note: Percentages may not add to 100 percent due to rounding.

A disposition of “other” may include fines, restitution, community service, and referrals outside
the court for services with minimal or no further court involvement anticipated.

Source: Developed by GAO from NCJJ data.

While probation was the most common disposition for formal cases,
47 percent of informal juvenile cases were dismissed in 1992,?° as shown in
table 15. Of the remaining 53 percent of the cases, about 30 percent of the

ZPossible reasons for dismissal included lack of evidence, offense was petty or seen as low risk, or the
juvenile and his or her family had reimbursed the victim for damages.
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juveniles were placed on probation, 23 percent received some other
disposition, and 0.4 percent were placed in a residential treatment
program. Finally, as with formal cases, the distribution of informal
dispositions was similar during the 5-year period, 1988 through 1992, as
shown in table 15. Of the approximately 730,000 informal delinquency
cases disposed of in 1992, about 47 percent were dismissed.

Table 15: Percent of Informal Cases by
Type of Disposition for 1988 Through
1992

Disposition 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992
Placement 0.3% 0.4% 0.4% 0.3% 0.4%
Probation 30.5 26.2 28.3 28.2 29.9
Dismissed 48.6 541 51.3 48.2 471
Other? 20.6 19.2 20.1 23.2 22.7

A disposition of “other” may include fines, restitution, community service, and referrals outside
the court for services with minimal or no further court involvement anticipated.

Source: Developed by GAO from NCJJ data.

For each offense type the distribution of informal dispositions was similar.
For example, regardless of the offense, in about 30 percent of informal
cases, juveniles were placed on probation in 1992.

The Few Juveniles in
Adult Prisons We
Visited Were Subject
to the Same Policies
and Procedures as
Adults

A 1991 survey®” of inmates in state correctional facilities reported that less
than 1 percent of state inmates were age 17 or younger. Few juveniles
were incarcerated in the seven adult facilities we visited. Further, those
juveniles were generally to be treated the same as the adult prisoners.

Juveniles in Adult Prisons

We could not find national estimates for the number of inmates at or
below the maximum age of juvenile court jurisdiction in each state.

However, results of the 1991 Survey of Inmates in State Correctional
Facilities indicated that less than 1 percent of the 712,000 state prison
inmates were age 17 or younger.?® In addition, during visits to seven

?"This survey was conducted by the U.S. Bureau of the Census for the U.S. Department of Justice,
Bureau of Justice Statistics.

2This figure may include juveniles age 16 and 17 who are above the maximum age of juvenile court
jurisdiction of their state.
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prisons in four states, we found that juveniles represented a small number
of the inmate population, at the time of our visit. For example, as shown in
table 16, 31 of the 857 inmates at the Western Youth Institution were age
17 or younger. While these data indicate that few juveniles were in the
adult prison system at one time, it does not include the number of inmates
who committed their offenses as juveniles and were sentenced to
incarceration but are now beyond the maximum age of juvenile court
jurisdiction, as defined by the state.

Table 16: Data on Seven Facilities Visited

Number of
individuals at or
below the
Maximum age of maximum age of Percent of
juvenile court Correctional Age of Facility juvenile court juvenile
State jurisdiction facility inmates population jurisdiction inmates
Florida 17 Brevard under 25 966 143 15%
Correctional
Institution
Florida all ages 750 6 a
Correctional
Institution
Lancaster under 25 635 90 14
Correctional
Institution
Michigan 16 Handlon under 26 1,315 11 a
Michigan
Training Unit
Michigan under 26 1,183 3 @
Reformatory
North Carolina 15 Western Youth under 19 857 31 4
Institution
Ohio 17  Southeastern all ages 1,945 10 a
Correctional
Institution

@Percent is less than 1.

Source: Developed by GAO from information provided by facility officials at the time of our visit.

Juveniles Are to Be
Treated Same as Adults

According to prison officials at all of the locations we visited, juveniles
convicted in criminal court and sentenced to prison are considered adults.
Generally, they are subject to the same polices and procedures as other
inmates regarding housing, health care services, education, vocation and
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work programs, and recreational activities. In addition, they are to be
afforded the same mail, visitation, and telephone privileges. However,
some prison officials pointed out that juveniles and youthful offenders
received different treatment at some facilities (e.g., they were provided
with a menu designed for their nutritional needs and they received more
educational opportunities). See appendix V for a summary of the
confinement conditions for juveniles in seven adult correctional facilities.

We are sending copies of this report to the Attorney General; the
Administrator, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention; the
Director, Office of Management and Budget; and other interested parties.
Copies will also be made available to others upon request.

Major contributors to this report are listed in appendix VI. If you have any
questions about this report, please contact me on (202) 512-8777.

i & Gt~

Laurie E. Ekstrand
Associate Director, Administration
of Justice Issues
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Objectives, Scope, and Methodology

The 1992 reauthorization (P.L. 102-586) of the Juvenile Justice and
Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974 (P.L. 93-415) mandated that we study
the processing of juveniles in criminal court. Specifically, we agreed with
your Committees to

« provide the frequency to which juveniles have been sent to criminal court
by judicial waiver, prosecutor direct filing, and statutory exclusion;

« analyze juvenile conviction rates and sentences of juveniles prosecuted in
criminal court using the most current data,

« analyze the dispositions of juveniles in juvenile court; and

« analyze the conditions of confinement in adult correctional facilities for
juveniles convicted in criminal court.

We also agreed to summarize state laws governing the circumstances
under which juveniles can be sent to criminal court. Further, we noted the
number of states that allowed criminal court judges to transfer juvenile
cases back to criminal court and the number of states that allowed
criminal court judges to impose juvenile court sanctions.

To address all objectives, we reviewed relevant literature. To determine
the frequency to which juveniles are processed in criminal court, we
obtained national, state, and local court data. Because data were not
available on the frequency of statutory exclusion, we analyzed the
statutory exclusion laws of 37 states and the District of Columbia to
determine the types of cases being excluded from juvenile court. To
determine sentences of juveniles convicted in criminal court, we analyzed
conviction rates, conviction offenses, and incarceration rates and
sentences for juveniles prosecuted in criminal court. To determine the
dispositions of juveniles in juvenile court, we analyzed the offenses and
dispositions of juveniles in juvenile court. To analyze conditions of
confinement for juveniles in adult correctional facilities, we conducted
site visits at seven adult prisons in four states. We classified cases as
juveniles on the basis of the defendants’ age at the time of arrest because
data were not available for the defendants’ age at the time of the offense.
As aresult, we underestimated the number of juveniles in criminal court.
To provide a summary of the state laws, we reviewed the statutes for 50
states and the District of Columbia. Finally, we obtained additional
perspectives on juvenile justice issues by mailing a survey to a national
sample of prosecutors’ offices and interviewing 15 juvenile court judges in
7 states.
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Review of Relevant
Literature

The act required us to compare the sentences of juveniles tried in criminal
court with those processed in juvenile court for similar offenses. On the
basis of discussions with juvenile justice officials, this type of comparison
should recognize the selection process by which juveniles are sent to
criminal court or remain in juvenile court. The officials said that juveniles
sent to criminal court are a select subset of all juveniles. The fact that they
are selected for criminal court indicates they are different from juveniles
processed in juvenile court. When sending juveniles to criminal court,
decisionmakers (e.g., judges) generally consider that these juveniles have
(1) relatively more serious criminal behaviors, (2) more extensive criminal
histories, (3) less amenability to treatment, or (4) a greater likelihood of
being a threat to the community than juveniles who are processed in
juvenile court. Also, juveniles processed in criminal court are subject to a
different sentencing process than those in juvenile court. Both factors
mean that comparisons between the two groups of juveniles would be of
nonequivalent groups. As a result, differences or similarities in their
sentences would be difficult to interpret. However, subject to these
caveats, we provided data on the sentencing outcomes for juveniles
processed in these two courts. We could not determine the extent to
which sentencing outcomes were due to differences in individual
characteristics of juveniles in the respective courts or sentencing
processes of the courts.

To develop an understanding of the issues associated with processing
juveniles in criminal court, we reviewed relevant literature identified in
bibliographies provided by the National Center for Juvenile Justice (NCJJ)
and the Department of Justice’s Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency
Prevention (0JJDP). From our review of the literature, we determined the
three principal methods for sending juveniles to criminal court and
identified the states’ policies on housing juveniles in adult prisons.

Page 39 GAO/GGD-95-170 Juvenile Case Dispositions



Appendix I
Objectives, Scope, and Methodology

National Data on the
Frequency of Judicial
Waiver

We used juvenile court data collected annually by NCJJ to determine the
number of juvenile cases processed in criminal court due to judicial
waiver. Each year, NCJJ collects juvenile court processing data and assigns
weights to the data, which permits projecting the data to produce national
estimates of cases disposed by all state juvenile justice systems.! 0JJDP
publishes the weighted data in its annual Juvenile Court Statistics.

Using the National Juvenile Court Data Archive (NJCDA), we developed
statistics for a 5-year period from calendar year 1988 to 1992. Specifically,
we developed national estimates of the number of juvenile cases waived to
criminal court by juvenile court judges (judicial waiver). In addition, we
developed statistics on the offense profiles and demographics of juveniles,
whose cases were waived to criminal court.

Analyses of the
Frequency of Judicial
Waiver in Selected
States

NCJJ’s NJCDA national data files did not contain sufficient information for
analyzing judicial waivers directly. However, some of the Center’s
state-specific files? have a wider range of data elements (including prior
offense histories) that facilitate such analyses. For example, in addition to
data showing the types of offenses and whether cases were waived, some
variables that we analyzed were the number of previous referrals and/or
adjudications and the metropolitan status of the court. Thus, in order to
conduct more detailed analyses of judicial waiver, we judgmentally
selected the following 7 states from a total of 25 states that provided court

In 1991, for example, the following 23 states provided juvenile court case-level data to NCJJ: Alabama,
Arizona (Maricopa county only), Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Maryland, Minnesota,
Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania,
South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. In 1990 and 1991, California
reported data from several of its larger counties, representing 40 percent of the state’s population that
is age 17 or younger. In addition, some jurisdictions in seven other states reported court case-level
data that were used in generating the national estimates. In all, data from 1,504 jurisdictions covering
57 percent of the nation’s youth at risk were used to produce the 1991 national estimates. NCJJ’s
estimates of the number and characteristics of delinquency cases and cases that were waived by
juvenile courts were on the bases of the assumption that the characteristics of cases in counties that
did not report juvenile court statistics were similar to those counties of similar size that did report
statistics to NCJJ. The details of the estimation procedures can be found in Juvenile Court Statistics.
The national estimates were not generated by a probability sample. NCJJ has conducted, however,
tests of the validity of the national estimates by comparing them with counts of referrals (as reported
by the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s Uniform Crime Reports) made by law enforcement agencies
to juvenile courts.

°We used data that were housed in and made available by the NJCDA, which is maintained by NCJJ
and supported by a grant from OJJDP. These data were originally collected by the Maricopa County,
AZ, Juvenile Court Center; the Alameda County, CA, Probation Department; the Los Angeles County,
CA, Probation Department; the San Francisco County, CA, Juvenile Probation Department; the San
Joaquin County, CA, Probation Department; the County of Ventura, CA, Corrections Services Agency;
the Florida Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services; the Missouri State Division of Children
and Youth Services; the Pennsylvania Center for Juvenile Justice Training and Research; the South
Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice; and the Utah Juvenile Court. Neither the original data
collectors nor NCJJ bear any responsibility for our analyses or interpretations of the data.
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data to NCJJ: Arizona, California, Florida, Missouri, Pennsylvania, South
Carolina, and Utah. In addition to geographical coverage, other factors we
considered in selecting these seven states were that (1) collectively, these
states’ juvenile justice systems reflected a diverse range of processes for
handling youthful offenders and (2) the states’ data files contained a
sufficient number of variables relevant to our analyses of judicial waiver.

For each of the seven states selected, we obtained a copy of NCJJ's
computerized data files for calendar years 1990 and 1991, the most recent
years for which consistent data were available.? Then, using the 1990 and
1991 data files, we completed analyses that compared the waiver rates in
different states; the waiver rates for defendants of different genders, races,
and ages; and the waiver rates of cases processed in juvenile courts with
different metropolitan status.

State and Local Data
Available on the
Frequency of
Prosecutor Direct
Filing Cases

To obtain data on the frequency of juvenile cases directly filed in criminal
court at the discretion of prosecutors, we contacted State Court
Administrator Offices in the 10 states with direct filing laws. Statewide
data on prosecutor direct filing cases were available in 5 of the 10 states
that have direct filing laws. To obtain data for the other states, we
contacted some of the largest counties/parishes in those states to get some
measure of the frequency of prosecutor direct filing. We also contacted
court officials in the District of Columbia to determine the frequency of
direct filing in the District.

Analysis of Statutory
Exclusion Statutes in
37 States and the
District of Columbia

To gain some perspective on the type of juvenile cases processed in
criminal court due to state statutes that exclude them from juvenile court,
we analyzed the statutes in 37 states and the District of Columbia. We
categorized the states according to whether their statutory exclusion laws
focused on (1) juveniles charged with serious violent offenses or other
serious offenses or (2) juveniles with prior court records.

3For trend purposes, additional data files (i.e., for years before 1990) would have been desirable;
however, the 1990-1991 data files were the only years that had a sufficient range of variables common
to all seven states to facilitate our planned analyses.

Page 41 GAO/GGD-95-170 Juvenile Case Dispositions



Appendix I
Objectives, Scope, and Methodology

National Data on the
Number of Juvenile
Cases Sent to
Criminal Court for All
Methods

In an attempt to collect data on the number of juveniles sent to criminal
court by all possible methods, we developed a survey to be completed by
juvenile justice specialists in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. We
received responses from 19 states and the District of Columbia. Nine of
the responses indicated that the data we requested were not available. Due
to the low response rate and unavailability of data, we were only able to
use this survey as an indicator of the relative frequency in which juveniles
are sent to criminal court by the three methods. In following up with
nonrespondents by telephone calls, they said that the data we requested
were not available.

State Specific
Analysis of Sentences
of Juveniles
Prosecuted in
Criminal Court

To identify the types of sentences juveniles receive when processed in
criminal court, we used the Bureau of Justice Statistics’s (BJS) Offender
Based Transaction Statistics (0BTS) data sets.* 0BTS focuses on arrested,
alleged offenders and contains information on offender characteristics,
patterns of arrest, prior criminal activities, prosecution activities, court
action, and sentences. At the time of our review, 0BTS contained data for
the years 1975 through 1990 for approximately 15 states. We analyzed data
from California, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Pennsylvania,
and Vermont for 1989 and 1990 combined. We chose these states because
they represented different maximum ages of juvenile court jurisdictions,
different laws governing which juveniles may be sent to criminal court,
and different geographic regions. We used these data to analyze conviction
rates, offenses, and incarceration rates of juveniles prosecuted in criminal
court. In addition, we compared these rates with those of “other youth”
and young adults (persons age 18 through 24) to gain a perspective on how
juveniles are treated relative to others prosecuted in criminal court.

Prosecutor Survey

To gather prosecutors opinions on data related to the processsing of
juveniles in criminal court, we obtained 226 completed questionnaires
from a nationally representative, probability sample of district prosecutor
offices that deal with juveniles in juvenile courts. Our final sample was
identified by first contacting a stratified probability sample of county
prosecutors in 290 of the 3,110 counties in the United States. To gather
information about both large and small counties, the sample was stratified
on the basis of the number of felony convictions in 1985. The 1985 felony

‘We attempted to use the BJS National Judicial Reporting Program (NJRP) data set. NJRP is a data set
that contains information on the sentences of convicted felons received in state courts in 1988 and
1990. The data set contains a probability sample of convicted felons sentenced in state courts. Because
of missing data that identified the age of the convicted felons, we could not identify juveniles and
therefore could not use this data to analyze juvenile sentences in criminal court.
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convictions were used first to draw this sample of 290 counties in 1986 for
the National Judicial Reporting Program.

We developed and pretested the questionnaire items with advice from
experts at NcJJ and BJS as well as selected prosecutor offices. The survey
was mailed in March 1994. Two sets of follow-up telephone calls and two
additional mailings were conducted between May and July.

We contacted all 290 selected counties to determine whether they had
juvenile prosecutors and, if so, the counties over which they had
jurisdiction. We determined that 270 of the 290 counties were eligible
members of our study population of prosecutor offices that dealt with
juvenile offenders in juvenile court. After weighing on the basis of the
probabilities of selection, we estimated that the study population
consisted of approximately 2,118 such juvenile prosecutors in the United
States. The number of juvenile prosecutors (2,118) is less than the number
of counties (3,110) partly because some counties are consolidated under a
single juvenile prosecutor and partly because some jurisdictions do not
have prosecutors that appear in juvenile court. Of the 270 sampled
prosecutors from the study population, 226 responded, for a response rate
of 84 percent.

All figures presented in this report were estimated from the returned
questionnaires to the population of the estimated 2,118 juvenile prosecutor
offices. All sample surveys are subject to sampling error, which refers to
the extent to which the results may differ from what would have been
obtained if the entire population had been surveyed. The size of sampling
errors in any survey depends largely on the number of respondents and
the amount of variability in the data from the returned surveys. In this
report, all estimates are made at the 95-percent confidence level with a
sampling error of less than 10 percent. This means that, if we had drawn
repeated samples from the entire study population of prosecutor offices,
19 out of 20 samples would have produced estimates within 10 percent of
the true proportion in the total population.

In addition to the reported sampling errors, any survey may be subject to
nonsampling errors as well. For example, differences in how a particular
question is interpreted, in the sources of information that are available to
respondents, or in the types of people who do not respond, can introduce
unwanted variability into survey results.
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We included steps in the data collection and data analysis stages to
minimize such nonsampling errors. We selected the sample from a
complete list of all counties, and we pretested our questionnaire with
experts and members of the target population. Our extensive follow-up
efforts were designed to maximize the response rate, and we achieved a
final response rate of 84 percent. All data were keyed twice and verified
during data entry, and all computer analyses were reviewed by a second
independent analyst.

National Data on the
Dispositions of
Juvenile Court Cases

To develop national statistics on the types of dispositions used in juvenile
court, we used the NcJJ's NJCDA data files. We developed national estimates
to compare (1) the number of juvenile cases processed informally versus
formally, (2) the dispositions of cases handled formally versus informally,
and (3) the types of dispositions for various crime types.

Site Visits to Review
Conditions of
Confinement for
Juveniles in Adult
Prisons

To obtain descriptive information on the conditions of confinement for
Jjuveniles in adult prisons, we visited seven prisons in Florida, Michigan,
North Carolina, and Ohio. In judgmentally selecting states to visit, we
considered (1) the state’s maximum age of juvenile court jurisdiction in
each state, (2) whether juveniles were housed with younger inmates (e.g.,
inmates under 25) or inmates of all ages, and (3) the number of inmates
under the age of 18.

In each state, we visited the prisons that housed the majority of inmates
under age 18. We visited a total of seven prisons—six that housed males
and one that housed females. During our visits, we interviewed prison
officials, using a structured interview format. While we did not verify the
information provided, we toured the facilities to observe the housing units,
health services facilities, education and vocation classrooms, and
recreation facilities.

Judges Survey
Addressing Judicial
Waiver Issues

We conducted structured interviews with 15 juvenile court judges in 7
states to obtain information on methods for sending juveniles to criminal
court. Judges were chosen randomly and interviewed on the basis of their
availability. We attempted to contact two or three judges in the juvenile
court jurisdictions that we visited during our site visits.
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Prosecutor Surv ey The three questions we asked prosecutors and their responses to them are

) as follows:
and Their Responses
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1. (@) In your jurisdiction in calendar year (CY) 1993, how many
requests for judicial waiver to criminal (adult) court were

filed ? (Enter numbers. If none, enter zero. Estimates are
acceptable.)

N = 212

Mean = 8

Median = 1 request filed for judicial waiver to criminal
(adult) court in CY 1993.

(b) Of these requests, how many were granted ?

N = 162

Mean = 9

Median = 2 requests granted for judicial waiver to

criminal (adult) court in CY 1993.

2. (a) Of all the criminal indictments filed in criminal (adult)
court in your jurisdiction in CY 1993, approximately what percent
were filed against juveniles in criminal (adult) court? (Enter
percent. If none, enter zero. Estimates are acceptable.)

N = 189

Mean = 2

Median = 0 percent of indictments filed against
juveniles in criminal (adult) court.

(b) In your jurisdiction in CY 1993, of all indictments filed
against juveniles in criminal (adult) court, approximately what
percent were the result of the following processes? (Enter
percents. If none, enter zero. Total should add to 100%. If an
item listed below cannot occur in your state, enter N/A.)

Judicial waivers

N = 166

Mean = 70%
Median = 100%
Direct filings

N = 166

Mean = 20%
Median = 0%
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Statutory exclusions

N = 166

Mean = 3%

Median = 0%

Other - Please specify:
N = 166

Mean = 7%

Median = 0%

Total = 100%

3. When considering whether to send or recommend sending a
juvenile to criminal (adult) court rather than to juvenile court,

what are the three most important factors that you are likely to
consider? (Check three factors you consider most important.)
N = 226

Note: Percentages represent the proportion of the 226
respondents indicating that a particular item is one of the
three most important factors.

[ Family background of the offender --

[ The offender's age 21%

[ The offender’'s age in relation to the upper age 17%
of juvenile court jurisdiction

d. [ The offender's age in relation to the extended age 3%
of juvenile court jurisdiction

1 Sophistication and maturity of the offender 7%

[1Seriousness of the alleged offense (e.g., involved 85%
drugs, guns, destruction of property)

g. [ Whether the offense was against other persons 17%

(e.g., involved victim injury)

h. [ Whether adult offenders were involved in the 1%
offense

[1Whether the offender is a repeat offender 57%

[1The availability of more serious punishments 5%
in criminal (adult) court

1 The availability of a youthful offender facility 1%

[1The need to protect the community 19%

1 Whether the offender has been determined to be 44%
unamenable to rehabilitation

1 Prosecutive merits of complaint 5%

[ Other factor? - Please specify: 3%

oow

- )

3~

o>
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Arizona

Data - 1990 and 1991 combined.

Number of formal delinquency cases - 17,320.

Number of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 397.

Percent of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 2.3.

Table 1l.1: Rate and Percent of Juvenile
Cases Waived by Offense Type in
Arizona, 1990 and 1991

Percent of
Offense type at disposition Waiver rate waived cases
Violent 7.0% 46.4%
Property 1.6 42.3
Drugs 3.8 58
Weapons 1.1 0.8
Public order or other 0.6 4.8

Source: NCJJ.

Table I1.2: Percent of Juvenile Cases
Waived by Sex, Age, and Race in
Arizona, 1990 and 1991

Sex Age at referral Race
Male Female 16 or older White Black Other
99.0% 1.0% 91.9% 35.5% 23.7% 40.8%

Note: Percentages may not equal 100 due to rounding.

Source: NCJJ.
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Table 11.3: Selected Juvenile Waiver Rates in Arizona, 1990 and 1991

Waiver rates at disposition

Public order

Factors Violent Property Drugs Weapons or other
Age

16 or older 13.4% 3.9% 5.6% 2.0% 1.2%

Under 16 years 1.5 0.1 0.8 0.0 0.0
Location

Metropolitan 7.0 1.6 3.8 1.1 0.6
Prior referrals

None 1.9 0.2 0.5 0.0 0.8

1or2 5.4 0.7 25 0.0 0.2

3 or more 14.5 4.4 10.3 3.7 0.8
Gender

Male 8.3 1.8 4.4 1.1 0.7

Female 0.2 0.2 0.0 0.0 0.0
Race

Black 9.1 2.6 10.9 1.5 0.9

White 5.1 1.3 0.8 1.1 05

Other 8.1 1.8 3.6 0.9 0.5

Source: NCJJ.

California Data - 1990 and 1991 combined (data from 5 counties).

Number of formal delinquency cases - 64,275.

Number of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 310.

Percent of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 0.5.
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Table Il.4: Rate and Percent of Juvenile
Cases Waived by Offense Type in
California, 1990 and 1991

Percent of
Offense type at referral Waiver rate waived cases
Violent 1.5% 85.1%
Property 0.1 6.4
Drugs 0.2 4.5
Weapons 0.1 1.3
Public order or other 0.1 1.3
Indeterminate 0.4 1.3

Source: NCJJ.

Table 11.5: Percent of Juvenile Cases
Waived by Sex, Age, and Race in
California, 1990 and 1991

Age at
Sex disposition Race
Male Female 16 or older White Black Other
98.4% 1.6% 98.4% 5.5% 34.3% 60.2%

Source: NCJJ.

|
Table 11.6: Selected Juvenile Waiver Rates in California, 1990 and 1991

Waiver rates at disposition

Public order

Factors Violent Property Drugs Weapons or other
Age

16 or older 2.4% 0.1% 0.2% 0.2% 0.1%

Under 16 years a 0.0 0.1 0.0 a
Location

Metropolitan 1.5 0.1 0.2 0.1 0.1
Gender

Male 1.7 0.1 0.2 0.1 0.1

Female 0.1 0.1 0.0 0.0 0.0
Race

Black 1.3 0.1 0.2 0.1 0.1

White 0.5 0.1 0.4 0.0 0.1

Other 1.9 0.1 0.1 0.1 0.0

@l ess than 0.1 percent.

Source: NCJJ.
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Florida

Data - 1990 and 1991 combined.

Number of formal delinquency cases - 148,976.

Number of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 1,389.

Percent of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 0.9.

Table 11.7: Rate and Percent of Juvenile
Cases Waived by Offense Type in
Florida, 1990 and 1991

Percent of
Offense type at disposition Waiver rate waived cases
Violent 1.8% 35.7%
Property 0.8 39.2
Drugs 2.4 13.7
Weapons 0.7 1.1
Public order or other 0.5 5.4

Source: NCJJ.

Table 11.8: Percent of Juvenile Cases
Waived by Sex, Age, and Race in
Florida, 1990 and 1991

Sex Age at referral Race
Male Female 16 or older White Black Other
95.5% 4.5% 76.2% 39.4% 60.1% 0.4%

Note: Percentages may not equal 100 due to rounding.

Source: NCJJ.
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Table 11.9: Selected Juvenile Waiver Rates in Florida, 1990 and 1991

Waiver rates at disposition

Public order

Factors Violent Property Drugs Weapons or other
Age

16 or older 2.6% 1.4% 3.0% 1.1% 0.7%

Under 16 years 1.1 0.3 1.2 0.3 0.2
Location

Metropolitan 1.8 0.8 5 0.8 0.5

Nonmetropolitan 1.1 0.6 1.4 0.0 0.9
Prior referrals

None 0.9 0.2 1.1 0.3 0.5

1or2 1.2 0.4 1.7 0.9 0.2

3 or more 2.9 1.5 3.8 1.1 0.6
Gender

Male 2.0 0.9 25 0.8 05

Female 0.6 0.2 1.8 0.0 0.2
Race

Black 2.3 0.7 3.0 0.9 05

White 1.0 0.8 1.2 0.5 0.5

Other 0.0 1.6 0.0 0.0 0.0

Source: NCJJ.

Missouri Data - 1990 and 1991 (combined).

Number of formal delinquency cases - 15,787.

Number of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 464.

Percent of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 2.9.
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Table 11.10: Rate and Percent of
Juvenile Cases Waived by Offense
Type in Missouri, 1990 and 1991

Percent of
Offense type at disposition Waiver rate waived cases
Violent 5.3% 41.6%
Property 1.7 26.9
Drugs 6.6 12.5
Weapons 2.4 19.0

Source: NCJJ.

Table I1.11: Percent of Juvenile Cases
Waived by Sex, Age, and Race in
Missouri, 1990 and 1991

Sex Age at referral Race
Male 16 or older White Black Other
98.7% 77.0% 29.5% 70.5% 0%

Source: NCJJ.

Table 11.12: Selected Juvenile Waiver
Rates in Missouri, 1990 and 1991

Waiver rates at disposition

Factors Violent Property Drugs Weapons
Age

16 or older 11.7% 4.4% 11.1% 5.6%

Under 16 years 2.3 0.4 2.6 0.7
Location

Metropolitan 55 1.4 6.8 2.5

Nonmetropolitan 3.7 2.4 4.0 1.6
Prior referrals

None 2.3 0.8 0.0 0.8

1or2 2.6 0.5 3.1 0.3

3 or more 9.4 3.2 12.0 4.2
Gender

Male 6.0 1.8 7.0 2.7

Female 0.4 0.3 0.0 0.4
Race

Black 7.4 1.8 7.5 3.2

White 2.4 1.6 3.3 1.3

Other 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0

Source: NCJJ.

Page 53

GAO/GGD-95-170 Juvenile Case Dispositions



Appendix IT
Judicial Waiver Data and Analysis for Seven
States

Pennsylvania

Data - 1990 and 1991 (combined).

Number of formal delinquency cases - 41,920.

Number of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 857.

Percent of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 2.0.

Table 11.13: Rate and Percent of
Juvenile Cases Waived by Offense
Type in Pennsylvania, 1990 and 1991

Percent of
Offense type at referral Waiver rate waived cases
Violent 2.4% 40.5%
Property 1.6 37.6
Drugs 3.8 19.3
Weapons 0.5 0.5
Public order or other 1.0 1.6
Indeterminate 0.7 0.7

Source: NCJJ.

Table 11.14: Percent of Juvenile Cases
Waived by Sex, Age, and Race in
Pennsylvania, 1990 and 1991

Sex Age at referral Race
Male Female 16 or older White Black Other
98.2% 1.8% 96.3% 31.8% 55.6% 12.5%

Note: Percentages may not equal 100 due to rounding.

Source: NCJJ.
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Table 11.15: Selected Juvenile Waiver Rates in Pennsylvania, 1990 and 1991

Waiver rates at disposition

Public order

Factors Violent Property Drugs  Weapons or other
Age

16 or older 4.8% 3.2% 5.3% 0.7% 1.8%

Under 16 years 0.2 0.1 0.5 0.3 0.0
Location

Metropolitan 2.4 1.5 3.8 0.4 1.1

Nonmetropolitan 2.0 2.8 6.0 4.2 0.6
Prior referrals

None 0.8 05 3.0 0.0 1.1

1or2 2.5 2.1 4.4 0.0 0.8

3 or more 58 5.7 4.9 0.0 3.2
Gender

Male 2.8 1.8 3.9 0.6 1.2

Female 0.2 0.2 2.4 0.0 0.0
Race

Black 3.0 1.6 3.9 0.8 0.9

White 1.4 1.6 1.6 0.0 1.0

Other 2.6 2.1 53 0.0 2.4

Source: NCJJ.

South Carolina, Data - 1990 and 1991 (combined).

Number of formal delinquency cases - 11,146.

Number of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 91.

Percent of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 0.8.
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Table 11.16: Rate and Percent of
Juvenile Cases Waived by Offense
Type in South Carolina, 1990 and 1991

Percent of
Offense type at disposition Waiver rate waived cases
Violent 3.6% 64.8%
Property 0.3 17.6
Drugs 3.1 13.2
Weapons 0.6 2.2
Public order or
other 0.1 2.2

Source: NCJJ.

Table 11.17: Percent of Juvenile Cases
Waived by Sex, Age, and Race in
South Carolina, 1990 and 1991

Sex Age at referral Race
Male Female 16 or older White Black Other
97.8% 2.2% 83.5% 14.3% 85.7% 0%

Source: NCJJ.
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Table 11.18: Selected Juvenile Waiver Rates in South Carolina, 1990 and 1991

Waiver rates at disposition

Public order

Factors Violent Property Drugs Weapons or other
Age

16 or older 9.8% 1.0% 5.2% 0.9% 0.2%

Under 16 years 0.9 0.1 1.0 0.5 0.0
Location

Metropolitan 4.5 0.4 2.7 0.5 0.1

Nonmetropolitan 2.4 0.3 3.9 0.8 0.0
Prior referrals

None 1.6 0.1 2.3 0.0 0.0

1or2 59 0.5 3.5 1.6 0.1

3 or more 5.7 0.6 4.7 0.0 0.0
Gender

Male 4.0 0.4 3.2 0.7 0.1

Female 0.9 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
Race

Black 4.4 0.4 3.8 0.8 0.1

White 1.6 0.2 0.0 0.0 0.1

Other 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0

Utah

Source: NCJJ.

Data - 1990 and 1991 (combined).

Number of formal delinquency cases - 54,990.

Number of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - 19.

Percent of formal delinquency cases judicially waived
to criminal court - Less than 0.1 percent.
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Table 11.19: Rate and Percent of
Juvenile Cases Waived by Offense
Type in Utah, 1990 and 1991

Waiver Percent of
Offense type at disposition rate? waived cases
Violent 21.0%
Property 79.0%

aOffense specific waiver rates were not computed due to the small universe of waived cases.

Source: NCJJ.

Table 11.20: Percent of Juvenile Cases
Waived by Sex, Age, and Race in Utah,
1990 and 1991

Sex Age at referral Race
Male Female 16 or older White Black Other
100% 0.0% 89.6% 52.6% 10.5% 36.8%

Note: Percentages may not equal 100 due to rounding.

Source: NCJJ.

Details of Analysis of
Waiver Rates

We did the following analysis using the data from tables II.3, I1.6, I11.9, I1.12,
II.15, and II.18. However, our analysis was limited to the variables for
which data were available in the six states.!

Age - In the six states we examined, juveniles age 16 or older were more
likely to have their cases waived than juveniles under age 16 years for all
three offense types. However, the likelihood that older juveniles would
have their cases waived than younger juveniles was much larger in some
states than in others. For example, in Arizona older juveniles charged with
property offenses were 39 times more likely to have their cases waived
than were younger juveniles charged with such offenses; while in Florida,
older juveniles charged with property offenses were only 5 times more
likely to have their cases waived than younger juveniles. While waiver
rates were somewhat higher in four of the six states for violent offenses
than for property or drug offenses, the rates varied among the states
within each age category. For example, older juveniles charged with
property offenses were 44 times more likely to have their cases waived in
Missouri than in California, while younger juveniles charged with violent
offenses were 58 times more likely to have their cases waived in Missouri
than in California.

Gender - Males were more likely than females to have their cases waived
within each offense type in the six states we analyzed. The extent of the

!Data were not available for Utah.
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likelihood again varied by state. For example, in Arizona males charged
with violent offenses were 42 times more likely to have their cases waived
than females in Arizona, while such males were 17 times more likely to
have their cases waived than females in California. In some states, the
likelihood was more apparent for those charged with violent offenses than
for those charged with either property or drug offenses. For males,
Jjuveniles charged with violent offenses had higher waiver rates than for
males charged with drugs or property offenses in three of the six states. In
the remaining three states, males charged with drug offenses had higher
waiver rates. Waiver rates for each offense type also differed across states
for males. For example, males charged with property offenses in Arizona
or Missouri were 18 times more likely to have their cases waived than
males in California.

Race - In four states, blacks were more likely than whites to have their
cases waived for violent, property, and drug offenses. For violent offenses,
the differential rates are fairly consistent across states, with black
juveniles having waiver rates from 1.8 times to 3.1 times higher than
whites. The differences varied more widely for drug offenses. In
California, black juveniles were half as likely as white juveniles to have
their cases waived, while in Pennsylvania black juveniles were more than
twice as likely to have their cases waived than whites. There were some
large differences, however; for example, for juveniles charged with drug
offenses, Arizona’s waiver rates for whites were twice those of California,
while for blacks, Arizona’s rates were 55 times those of California.

Locality - In the four NcJJ states with data on metropolitan and
nonmetropolitan courts, some small differences did exist but were not
consistent across offense types within the same state. For example, in
Missouri, waiver rates in metropolitan areas were higher for violent and
drug offenses but lower for property offenses than in nonmetropolitan
areas. The waiver rate was highest for drug offenses in all four states in
nonmetropolitan areas and in three of the four states in metropolitan
areas. In nonmetropolitan areas in Pennsylvania, juveniles charged with
violent offenses were less likely to have their cases waived than those
charged with drugs or property offenses. The likelihood of cases being
waived in each type of locality varied somewhat for the offense types
among the four states, particularly for property offenses. For example,
juveniles charged with property offenses in metropolitan areas in
Pennsylvania were almost 4 times more likely to have their cases waived
than were juveniles in South Carolina, while those charged with property
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offenses in nonmetropolitan areas of Pennsylvania were 9 times more
likely to have their cases waived than those in South Carolina.

Prior Referrals - In the five states with data, waiver rates generally
increased with the number of prior referrals for all five states and most
offense types. We categorized referrals into three groups: (1) none, (2) one
or two, and (3) three or more. The larger increases usually occurred
between the second and third categories. For example, in Arizona,
juveniles charged with violent offenses and who had one or two prior
referrals were 3 times more likely to have their cases waived than those
with no referrals, while juveniles charged with violent offenses with three
or more referrals were 8 times more likely to be referred than those with
no referrals. The states differed in the rates at which they waived cases for
these offense types in each prior referral group. The differences were
strongest for juveniles charged with property offenses. For example,
considering only those with three or more prior referrals, the greatest
difference for juveniles charged with violent offenses was found between
Arizona and Florida, where Arizona’s waiver rate for these juveniles was 5
times greater than Florida’s. However, for juveniles charged with property
offenses, the greatest difference was found between Pennsylvania and
South Carolina, where Pennsylvania’s waiver rate was almost 10 times
greater than in South Carolina.
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Table Ill.1: Conviction Rates and the Number of Other Youth Prosecuted in Criminal Court in Two States for Selected
Offenses, 1989 and 1990

Serious violent Serious property Drugs
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent
State prosecuted convicted prosecuted convicted prosecuted convicted
Missouri 223 43% 1,015 38% 261 36%
New York 12,047 50 11,674 64 7,049 74

Note: This table includes the most prevalent offense types for which juveniles were prosecuted.

Source: Developed by GAO using OBTS data.

Table 111.2: Conviction Rates and the Number of Young Adults (Ages 18-24) Prosecuted in Criminal Court in Seven States
for Selected Offenses, 1989 and 1990

Serious violent Serious property Drugs

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent
State prosecuted convicted prosecuted convicted prosecuted convicted
California 12,629 82% 18,434 89% 23,662 81%
Minnesota 1,825 90 5,417 89 1,517 77
Missouri 1,222 53 4,359 48 1,794 48
Nebraska 925 79 2,113 82 892 79
New York 38,592 52 34,781 67 36,345 72
Pennsylvania 9,431 74 15,203 74 2,491 81
Vermont 212 91 812 98 135 90

Note: This table includes the most prevalent offense types for which juveniles were prosecuted.

Source: Developed by GAO using OBTS data.

Table I11.3: Percent of Other Youth |
Convicted in Criminal Court by Total Percent Percent
Offense, 1989 and 1990 number of  convicted convicted Percent
other of serious  of serious convicted
youth violent property of drug
State convicted offenses offenses offenses
Missouri 705 14% 54% 13%
New York 21,665 28 34 24

Note: Percents may not equal 100 percent due to rounding and the exclusion of such offense
types as weapons, indeterminate property, public order, and traffic offenses.

Source: Developed by GAO using OBTS data.
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Table I1.4: Percent of Young Adults
(Ages 18-24) Convicted in Criminal
Court by Offense, 1989 and 1990

Total Percent Percent
number of  convicted convicted Percent
young of serious of serious  convicted
adults violent property of drug
State convicted offenses offenses offenses
California 51,570 20% 32% 37%
Minnesota 8,427 19 57 14
Missouri 4,259 15 49 20
Nebraska 3,972 18 44 18
New York 78,978 25 29 33
Pennsylvania 30,565 23 37 7
Vermont 1,510 13 53 8

Note: Percents may not equal 100 percent due to rounding and the exclusion of such offense
types as weapons, indeterminate property, and public order.

Source: Developed by GAO using OBTS data.

Table 111.5: Percent of Other Youth Incarcerated and the Total Number of Other Youth Sentenced for Serious Violent,
Serious Property, and Drug Offenses, 1989 and 1990

Serious violent offenses

Serious property offenses

Drug offenses

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent
State sentenced incarcerated sentenced incarcerated sentenced incarcerated
Missouri 85 60% 355 49% 96 66%
New York 4,144 54 4,533 41 4513 63

Source: Developed by GAO from OBTS data.

Table II1.6: Percent of Young Adults (Ages 18-24) Incarcerated and the Total Number of Young Adults Sentenced for
Serious Violent, Serious Property, and Drug Offenses, 1989 and 1990

Serious violent offenses

Serious property offenses

Drug offenses

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent
State sentenced incarcerated sentenced incarcerated sentenced incarcerated
California 6,747 93% 15,132 86% 18,438 90%
Minnesota 1,327 91 4,217 82 1,002 84
Missouri 566 67 2,007 53 868 57
Nebraska 560 78 1,587 61 668 62
New York 13,367 72 15,354 63 22,918 80
Pennsylvania 5,646 59 7,636 55 2,181 74
Vermont 136 67 719 53 121 47

Source: Developed by GAO from OBTS data.
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Table I11.7: Total Number of Other
Youth Incarcerated for Serious Violent
Offenses, Serious Property Offenses,
and Drug Offenses, 1989 and 1990

Total number

Total number

of other youth of other youth Total number

incarcerated incarcerated  of other youth

for serious for serious incarcerated

violent property for drug

State offenses offenses offenses
Missouri 51 173 63
New York 2,215 1,850 2,817
Total 2,266 2,023 2,880

Source: Developed by GAO using OBTS data.

Table I111.8: Total Number of Young
Adults (Ages 18-24) Incarcerated for
Serious Violent Offenses, Serious
Property Offenses, and Drug Offenses,
1989 and 1990

Total number

Total number

of young of young Total number

adults adults of young

incarcerated incarcerated adults

for serious for serious incarcerated

violent property for drug

State offenses offenses offenses
California 6,239 13,078 16,546
Minnesota 1,212 3,462 841
Missouri 379 1,072 497
Nebraska 439 968 413
New York 9,577 9,670 18,442
Pennsylvania 3,321 4,193 1,616
Vermont 91 380 57
Total 21,258 32,823 38,412

Source: Developed by GAO using OBTS data.
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State Statute

Maximum age of
original juvenile

court jurisdiction Conditions under which a juvenile is or may be tried in criminal court

Alabama Section 12-15-34,
1994 Al. Pub. Act
481

17

Statutory Exclusions

—any child who has been convicted as an adult.

—child 16 or older charged with a capital offense; a class A felony; drug
trafficking; or a felony that has as an element, the use of a deadly
weapon, the causing of death or serious bodily injury, or the use of a
dangerous instrument against any law enforcement officer, corrections
officer, parole or probation officer, prosecutor, judge, court officer, grand
juror, juror, witness, or a teacher, principal or employee of a public
school.

Judicial Waiver

—any child 14 or older.

Alaska Sections
47.10.010,47.10.060

17

Statutory Exclusions

—child 16 or older charged with an unclassified or class A felony against
a person, or first degree arson.

Judicial Waiver

—any child (there is a rebuttable presumption for waiver if child is
charged with an unclassified or class A felony against a person).

Sentencing

—child tried as an adult under statutory exclusion but convicted of a
lesser-included offense may have his or her case disposed of as though
he or she had been adjudicated as a juvenile if the court finds that he or
she is amenable to treatment.

Arizona R. Juv. P. 12, 14

17

Judicial Waiver

—any child (there is a rebuttable presumption for waiver if the child is 16
or older and charged with first or second degree murder; aggravated
assault involving a deadly weapon and causing serious physical injury;
sexual assault involving the use of a dangerous instrument or involving
the intentional infliction of physical injury; or an offense constituting a
class 1, 2, 3, or 4 felony where the child has been adjudicated as a
delinquent on four prior, separate occasions, at least one of which was
for a serious offense).
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Arkansas Section 9-27-318 17 Prosecutorial Discretion
—child 16 or older charged with a felony.
—child 14 or older charged with capital, first, or second degree murder;
kidnapping; aggravated robbery; rape; first or second degree battery;
possession of a handgun on school property; aggravated assault;
terroristic act; unlawful discharge of a firearm from a vehicle; any felony
committed while armed with a firearm; soliciting a minor to join a criminal
street gang; criminal use of prohibited weapons; felony possession of a
firearm; or felony attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit capital,
first, or second degree murder, kidnapping, aggravated robbery, rape,
or first degree battery.
Judicial Waiver
—above conditions when prosecutor did not charge child as adult.
Reverse Waiver
—when prosecutor files in criminal (circuit) court, the court may remand
to juvenile court.

California W & | sections 707, 17 Judicial Waiver

707.2

—any child 16 or older (there is a presumption for waiver if offense
charged is arson, lewd act, attempted murder, certain types of assault,
any felony with certain weapons [12020a], offense against an aged or
handicapped person, felony or drug offense with use of firearm,
influencing testimony, preventing or dissuading victim or witness from
testifying, or any offense for which a 14 year old may have his or her
case waived).

—child 14 or older charged with murder; robbery in which the juvenile
used a firearm; rape, sodomy, or oral copulation by force, etc.;
penetration by a foreign object; kidnapping; discharging a firearm from a
vehicle or into an occupied or inhabited building; manufacturing or
selling certain controlled substances; escape from juvenile custody
where bodily harm is inflicted on employee; torture; aggravated
mayhem; assault with a firearm; attempted murder; rape with a firearm;
burglary with a firearm; exploding a destructive device with intent to
commit murder; carjacking with a firearm (there is a presumption for
waiver if offense charged is first or second degree murder).

Sentencing

—child may be sentenced by criminal court as an adult or committed to
California Youth Authority (CYA) (child under 16 must first go to CYA for
amenability determination, but court can still sentence as an adult
notwithstanding CYA’s amenability determination).
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Colorado

Sections 19-2-805,
806

17 Prosecutorial Discretion (the criminal court judge can no longer send

cases directly filed back to juvenile court)

—child 14 or older charged with a class 1 or 2 felony; a crime of
violence; a felony weapons offense (except possession of a handgun);
or the use, possession, or threatened use of a deadly weapon during a
felony against a person.

—child 16 or older charged with a class 3 felony (except a certain
classification of statutory rape) and who has been adjudicated within the
past 2 years for a felony.

—child 14 or older charged with a felony and who has been convicted
as an adult in a prior case.

—child 14 or older charged with a felony and determined to be a
habitual juvenile offender (juvenile who has two prior adjudications for
acts that constitute felonies).

Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older charged with a felony (the prosecutor must then file
an information? within 5 days or the waiver is invalid, and the case is
remanded to the juvenile court permanently).

Sentencing

—when a child has been tried as an adult by prosecutorial direct filing,
the judge may sentence the child as an adult; as a youthful offender
(with some restrictions); or as a juvenile in very limited circumstances.
—if the child’s case was judicially waived, the child may receive a
sentence as a juvenile (or the criminal court may remand the case to
juvenile court for disposition), unless the child was convicted of a class 1
felony or a crime of violence; has been previously adjudicated as a
mandatory sentence offender, a violent juvenile offender, or an
aggravated juvenile offender; or has been convicted as an adult or
youthful offender.

Page 66

(continued)

GAO/GGD-95-170 Juvenile Case Dispositions



Appendix IV
Summary of Transfer Laws

Maximum age of
original juvenile

State Statute court jurisdiction Conditions under which a juvenile is or may be tried in criminal court
Connecticut Sections 46b-126, 15 Statutory Exclusions (mandatory transfer provisions)
46b-127

—child 14 or older charged with murder.

—child 14 or older charged with a class A felony (other than those listed
below), who has a previous adjudication, at any age, for a class A felony.
—child 14 or older charged with a class B felony (other than those listed
below) who has been adjudicated as a delinquent twice before on class
A or B felonies.

—child 14 or older charged with any of the following crimes committed
with a firearm: first or second degree manslaughter; first or second
degree assault; third degree sexual assault; first or second degree
kidnapping; second or third degree burglary; second degree robbery
while displaying or threatening to use a deadly weapon; first degree
sexual assault with a deadly weapon; first degree burglary; or first
degree robbery.

—child 14 or older charged with any felony classified as a serious
juvenile offense under 46b-120 while carrying a revolver or pistol without
a permit.

Judicial Waiver (where mandatory transfer provisions—section
46b-127—do not apply)

—child 14 or older charged with a class A felony.

—child 14 or older charged with a class B or C felony who previously
has been adjudicated as a “serious juvenile offender” (found to have
committed one or more offenses listed in section 46b-120).

Delaware 10 sections 921, 17 Statutory Exclusions
1010, 1011

—any child charged with murder in the first or second degree, unlawful
sexual intercourse in the first degree, or kidnapping in the first degree.

Judicial Waiver

—any child 16 or older.
—any child 14 or older charged with a felony.

Reverse Waiver

—Attorney General may transfer any case from criminal court to juvenile
court (whether child was transferred by juvenile court or criminal court
had original jurisdiction).

—where criminal court has original jurisdiction over child (i.e., statutorily
excluded offenses) criminal court may transfer to juvenile court.

(continued)
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District of Sections 16-2301, 17 Statutory Exclusions
Columbia 16-2307

—any child previously convicted as an adult.
—any child awaiting trial in criminal court when an indictment or an
information is filed against him for a subsequent offense.

Prosecutorial Discretion

—child 16 or older charged with murder, forcible rape, first degree
burglary, armed robbery, or assault with intent to commit any of those
crimes.

Judicial Waiver

—child 15 or older charged with a felony. (There is a rebuttable
presumption for waiver if child is 15 or older and charged with murder,
forcible rape, first degree burglary, robbery while armed, or assault with
intent to commit any of the above; any crime with a firearm; or any violent
felony if the child has three or more prior delinquency adjudications.)
—child 16 or older under commitment as a delinquent child.

—any child charged with illegal possession or control of a firearm within
500 feet of public school property, or school-sponsored event.
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Florida Sections 39.022, 17 Statutory Exclusions

39.047, 39.052,

39.0587 —any child who has been convicted and sentenced as an adult.

—child 16 or older charged with a violent crime against a person and
who previously has been adjudicated for murder, sexual battery,
carjacking, armed or strong-armed robbery, home-invasion robbery,
aggravated battery, or aggravated assault (prosecutor must file
information).

—any child who has previously been adjudicated on three separate
occasions for felonies that resulted in residential placements.

Prosecutorial Discretion

—child 14 or older charged with arson; sexual battery; robbery;
kidnapping; aggravated child abuse; aggravated assault; aggravated
stalking; murder; manslaughter; unlawful throwing, placing, or
discharging a destructive device or bomb; armed burglary; aggravated
battery; lewd or lascivious assault or act in the presence of a child; or
use or possession of a weapon during a felony.

—any child 16 or older charged with a felony, or charged with a
misdemeanor where he or she has two prior delinquency adjudications
of which at least one was a felony.

—any child charged with a crime that is punishable by death or by life
imprisonment.

Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older. (In the case of a child 14 or older charged with a
fourth felony where one of prior three felonies involved using firearm or
violence against a person: the prosecutor must request a waiver or
explain in writing why he or she is not requesting a waiver; then the court
must waive or explain in writing why it is not granting a waiver.)

Sentencing

—criminal court may sentence child as an adult, select from juvenile
dispositions, or invoke Florida Youthful Offender statute (except that a
child found to have committed an offense punishable by death or life
imprisonment must be sentenced as an adult).

(continued)
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Georgia Sections 15-11-5, 16 Statutory Exclusions

15-11-39,

15-11-39.1 —child 13 or older charged with murder, voluntary manslaughter, rape,

aggravated sodomy, aggravated child molestation, aggravated sexual
battery, or armed robbery committed with a firearm (superior court has
exclusive original jurisdiction, but after an investigation, the prosecutor
may refuse to indict or the judge may send child to juvenile court “for
extraordinary cause”).

—child 14 or older who is confined to a youth development center and is
charged with aggravated assault or aggravated battery (mandatory
transfer).

—child 15 or older charged with burglary after having been adjudicated
as a delinquent on burglary charges at least three times previously
(mandatory transfer).

Prosecutorial Discretion (concurrent jurisdiction)

—child charged with a crime punishable by death or by life
imprisonment (other than those offenses that are in the exclusive
jurisdiction of the Superior Court).

Judicial Waiver

—child 15 or older.

—child 13 or older charged with a felony punishable by life
imprisonment or death (other than those offenses that are in the
exclusive jurisdiction of the Superior Court).

Reverse Waiver

—child charged with statutorily excluded offense may be transferred to
juvenile court “for extraordinary cause” unless the offense is punishable
by death or life imprisonment.

Sentencing

—child charged with statutorily excluded offense but convicted of a

lesser-included offense may be transferred to juvenile court for
sentencing.
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Hawaii Section 571-22 17 Statutory Exclusions

—child who has been transferred to adult court.

—child 16 or older who is charged with murder or attempted murder in
the first or second degree, or a class A felony (felony punishable by 20
years imprisonment, includes sexual assault, robbery, kidnapping, some
drug offenses) and who has been adjudicated for two other felonies in
the prior 2 years or previously has been adjudicated as a delinquent for
murder or attempted murder in the first or second degree or for another
violent class A felony.

Judicial Waiver
—child 16 or older charged with a felony.
Sentencing

—any child under 22 may be sentenced as a young adult (they receive
shorter sentences).

Idaho Sections 16-1806, 17 Statutory Exclusions
16-1806A

—child 14 or older charged with murder or attempted murder, robbery,
forcible rape, forcible sexual penetration with a foreign object, infamous
crimes against nature committed by force or violence, mayhem, assault
and battery with the intent to commit a previously listed crime, or drug
offenses within 1,000 feet of a school or school activity.

—any child who has been convicted as an adult.

Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older.
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original juvenile
court jurisdiction Conditions under which a juvenile is or may be tried in criminal court

Illinois

705 ILCS 405/5-4

16

Statutory Exclusions

—child 15 or older charged with first degree murder; aggravated
criminal sexual assault; armed robbery with a firearm; a drug offense on
or within 1,000 feet of school or public housing grounds, or on a school
conveyance; or unlawful use of a weapon on school grounds.

—any child charged with escape or bail jumping while the child is being
tried in criminal court.

—child 15 or older charged with a felony and who has previously been
adjudicated as a delinquent for a felony, provided that either the current
or prior act was a forcible felony, and the current act stemmed from
gang activity (mandatory transfer).

Judicial Waiver

—child 13 or older. (There is a rebuttable presumption for waiver for
child 15 or older charged with a class X felony other than armed
violence, aggravated discharge of a firearm, or certain “armed violence
with a firearm” offenses).

Sentencing
—If child being tried in criminal court for a statutorily excluded offense is

found guilty of a lesser offense, the court may sentence the child as a
juvenile or adult.

Indiana

Sections 31-6-2-1,
31-6-2-4

17

Statutory Exclusions

—child 16 or older charged with murder; kidnapping; rape; or robbery,
while armed with a deadly weapon or which results in bodily injury or
serious bodily injury; carjacking; criminal gang activity; criminal gang
intimidation; carrying handgun without a license; being a child in
possession of a handgun or transferring a handgun to another child; or
dealing in a sawed-off shotgun.

—any child 16 or older whose case is waived to adult court (by judicial
waiver or prosecutorial discretion) in the year preceding the current
offense and who is convicted of the previous offense or a lesser included
one.

—child who has been convicted as an adult and is currently charged
with a felony (mandatory transfer).

Judicial Waiver

—child 10 or older charged with murder.

—child 14 or older charged with a heinous or aggravated act, or a
pattern of criminal acts.

—child 16 or older charged with certain felony drug charges, a class A
or B felony that is not a statutory exclusion, involuntary manslaughter as
a class C felony, or reckless homicide as a class C felony.
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lowa Sections 232.8,
232.45, 232.45A

17

Statutory Exclusions

—child 16 or older charged with a felony and who has been convicted
as an adult for a felony.

Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older.

Sentencing

—a child convicted as an adult on a nonmarijuana related drug offense

is not subject to normal minimum sentencing laws, but the child would
have to serve at least 30 days.

Kansas Sections 21-3611,
38-1602,
38-1636

17

Statutory Exclusions

—child 16 or older charged with a felony who has been previously
adjudicated as a delinquent for a felony.

—any child previously convicted as an adult, if he or she had come to
criminal court through statutory exclusion provision, as explained above.
—child 16 or older who has been adjudicated as a delinquent and
confined to a juvenile facility and who is charged with committing a
felony while confined in the facility or while running away or escaping
from the facility; or charged with a second or subsequent escape.

Judicial Waiver

—child 16 or older.

—child 14 or older who is charged with a level 1, 2, or 3 nondrug felony
or alevel 1 or 2 drug felony (classifications as of 7/1/93) or a class A or B
felony (pre- 7/1/93 classifications) (if the child is convicted of a
lesser-included offense then he or she is treated as a juvenile).
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Kentucky

Sections 635.020,
640.010

17

Statutory Exclusions

—child 14 or older charged with a felony in which a firearm was used.
Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older charged with a capital offense or a class A
(punishable by 20 years to life) or B (punishable by 10-20 years) felony.
—child 16 or older charged with a class C or D felony (punishable by
5-10 and 1-5 years, respectively) and who has twice before been
adjudicated on felony charges.

—any child charged with a felony and who has previously been
convicted as an adult.

Reverse Waiver

—any child transferred to adult court and indicted for an offense other
than those listed above will be transferred back to juvenile court.

Sentencing

—any child sentenced before becoming 18 and not released before
becoming 18 must be returned to the sentencing court for a
redetermination of sentence, which may result in probation or conditional
discharge, 6 more months of treatment program, or incarceration in adult
prison.

Louisiana

Ch.C. Art. 305, Art.
857

16

Statutory Exclusions

—child 15 or older charged with first or second degree murder,
aggravated rape, or aggravated kidnapping.

Prosecutorial Discretion

—child 15 or older charged with attempted first or second degree
murder; manslaughter; armed robbery; forcible rape; simple rape;
second degree kidnapping; a second or subsequent aggravated
battery, aggravated burglary, burglary of an inhabited dwelling, or felony
grade violation of statute involving the manufacture, distribution, or
possession with intent to distribute controlled dangerous substances.

Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older charged with first or second degree murder,
aggravated kidnapping, aggravated rape, aggravated battery
committed by discharging a firearm, armed robbery with a firearm, or
aggravated oral sexual battery (a 14 year old whose case is waived to
criminal court and who is convicted cannot be confined beyond his or
her 31st birthday.)
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Maine 15 section 3101 17 Statutory Exclusions

—child convicted as an adult.
Judicial Waiver

—child charged with murder or a class A, B, or C crime.

Maryland Cts. 17 Statutory Exclusions
sections 3-804,
3-817 —child 14 or older charged with a crime punishable by death or by life

imprisonment.

—child 16 or older charged with abduction; kidnapping; second degree
murder; manslaughter (except involuntary); mayhem or maiming;
robbery with a dangerous or deadly weapon; a second or third degree
sexual offense; certain firearms offenses; using, wearing, carrying, or
transporting a firearm during a drug trafficking offense; carjacking or
armed carjacking; assault with intent to murder, rape, rob, or commit a
first or second degree sexual offense.

Judicial Waiver

—child 15 or older.
—any child charged with a crime punishable by death or by life
imprisonment.

Reverse Waiver

—criminal court may transfer juveniles charged with statutorily excluded
offenses to juvenile court (the court cannot transfer child back to juvenile
court if the child has been previously reverse waived to juvenile court
and was adjudicated as a delinquent, the child has been convicted in
another unrelated case of a statutorily excluded offense, or the child is
16 or older and charged with 1st degree murder).

—when criminal court does a reverse waiver of an excluded juvenile,
juvenile court cannot judicially waive the case back to criminal court.

Massachusetts 119 section 61 16 Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older when the crime could result in imprisonment in the
state prison and (1) the child has been previously committed to the
department of youth services or (2) when the act involves the infliction or
threat of serious bodily harm (prosecutor may appeal judge’s decision
denying waiver); court must hold transfer hearing if child charged with
murder in the first or second degree, manslaughter, assault with intent to
rob while armed, rape, rape of child under 16, kidnapping, or burglary
(being armed or making an assault).

Sentencing
—child tried as an adult for any offense except murder and found guilty

before turning 18 may be adjudicated as a delinquent and given a
juvenile disposition.
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Michigan Sections 600.606, 16 Prosecutorial Discretion

712A.4, 712A.2,

769.1 —child 15 or older charged with murder in the first or second degree;
attempted murder; assault with the intent to murder; assault with intent to
rob while armed; criminal sexual conduct in the first degree; armed
robbery; carjacking; manufacture, distribution, or possession of
controlled substances (650 grams or more of narcotics or cocaine).
Judicial Waiver
—child 15 or older charged with a felony.

Sentencing
—child tried as an adult by prosecutorial discretion may be sentenced
as an adult or given a juvenile disposition.
Minnesota Sections 260.015, 17 Statutory Exclusions
260.125

—any child charged with a felony and who has been previously certified
for trial as an adult and convicted of the offense for which he or she was
certified or of a lesser-included felony offense.

—child 16 or older charged with first degree murder (but not attempted
first degree murder).

Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older charged with a felony (there is a rebuttable
presumption for waiver if the child is 16 or older and charged with felony
involving the use of a firearm or an offense that would result in a prison
sentence under the sentencing guidelines).

—if the presumption applies and the court retains jurisdiction, it must
designate the proceeding an extended jurisdiction juvenile prosecution
(if the presumption does not apply the court may still designate as an
extended jurisdiction prosecution).
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Mississippi Sections 43-21-105, 17 Statutory Exclusions
43-21-151,
43-21-157, —child 13 or older charged with a crime punishable by life imprisonment
43-23-29, or the death penalty or charged with felony use of a deadly weapon.
43-23-31 —child convicted as an adult.
—child 17 charged with a felony.
Judicial Waiver (youth court, which was created as a division of family or
county court in all jurisdictions)
—child 13 or older.
Judicial Waiver (family court) (Harrison county is the only
jurisdiction with a family court)
—child 13 or older charged with a felony.
—child 13 or older charged with a misdemeanor and who was first
brought before municipal or justice of the peace court (family court
retains jurisdiction to set aside the sentence).
Reverse Waiver
—in case of statutory exclusions, the circuit court may transfer to youth
court unless the child was previously convicted as an adult.
—in case of judicial waiver, circuit court may upon motion of the child,
review the transfer proceedings and remand the case to youth court if
there is no substantial evidence supporting the transfer.
—the Family Court Act makes no provision for reverse waiver.
Missouri Section 211.071 16 Statutory Exclusions
—child previously convicted as an adult.
Judicial Waiver
—child 14 or older charged with a felony.
Montana Section 41-5-206 17 Statutory Exclusions

—child 16 or older charged with deliberate or mitigated deliberate
homicide or the attempt to commit either (mandatory transfer).

Judicial Waiver

—child 12 or older charged with sexual intercourse without consent,
mitigated deliberate homicide, deliberate homicide, or attempted
deliberate or mitigated deliberate homicide.

—child 16 or older charged with negligent homicide, arson, aggravated
or felony assault, robbery, burglary or aggravated burglary, aggravated
kidnapping, possession of explosives, criminal sale of dangerous drugs,
or attempting to commit any of those acts.
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Nebraska Sections 43-247, 17 Prosecutorial Discretion
43-261
—child 16 or older charged with misdemeanor.
—any child charged with a felony.
Reverse Waiver
—any child charged in criminal court may move the court to waive
jurisdiction to juvenile court.
Nevada Sections 62.040, 17 Statutory Exclusions

62.060, 62.080

—child charged with murder or attempted murder.
—child who has been convicted as an adult.

Judicial Waiver
—child 16 or older charged with a felony.

Extended Jurisdiction

—a person 18-20 who is charged with a gross misdemeanor or felony
other than murder or attempted murder may request that the district
court waive jurisdiction, so that the person can be tried as a juvenile.

Reverse Waiver

—child who is statutorily excluded because he or she has previously
been convicted as an adult may request waiver to juvenile court.

New Hampshire  Sections 169-B:24,
169-B:27, 628:1

17

Statutory Exclusions

—any child who has been convicted as an adult.
Judicial Waiver

—child 15 or older charged with a felony.
—child 13 or older charged with first or second degree murder,
manslaughter, kidnapping, or aggravated sexual assault.

Reverse Waiver

—in the case of a child charged with a felony and who is not within the
jurisdiction of the state, the juvenile court may, upon motion of the
prosecutor, authorize use of regular criminal proceedings against the
child; the criminal court then determines whether to retain jurisdiction or
remand the case to juvenile court.
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New Jersey Section 2A:4A-26

17

Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older charged with criminal homicide (other than death by
auto) or strict-liability for drug-induced death; first degree robbery;
aggravated sexual assault; sexual assault; second degree aggravated
assault, kidnapping, aggravated arson or conspiracy to commit any of
these crimes; any other crime committed after the juvenile was
adjudicated as a delinquent or convicted for one of the above crimes or
after the child had been sentenced as an adult to confinement; any other
violent offense against a person; the unlawful possession of a firearm,
destructive device, or other prohibited weapon, arson, or conspiracy to
commit any of these crimes; death by auto if the child was under the
influence of drugs or alcohol; various offenses related to being part of an
organized drug ring or conspiracy; auto theft; racketeering; or
distributing for pecuniary gain, any controlled substance within 1,000
feet of a public school.

New Mexico Sections 31-18-13 et
seq., 32A-1-8,
32A-2-3

17

Statutory Exclusions

—child 16 or older charged with first degree murder (called a “serious
youthful offender”).

Juvenile Court Disposition (subject to adult or juvenile sanctions in
juvenile court, called “youthful offenders”)

—child 15 or older found to have committed second degree murder;
assault with intent to commit a violent felony; kidnapping; aggravated
battery; shooting at a dwelling, occupied building, or at or from a car,
resulting in great bodily harm to another; dangerous use of explosives;
criminal sexual penetration; robbery; aggravated burglary or aggravated
arson; or any felony if he or she has been adjudicated on felonies twice
before in the prior 2 years.

—15 year old found to have committed first degree murder.
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New York Penal Law 30.00, 15 Statutory Exclusions (all juveniles tried in criminal court are considered
70.05 “juvenile offenders”)
Criminal Procedure
Law 1.20(42), —child 13 or older charged with murder in the second degree.
180.75, 190.71, —child 14 or older charged with kidnapping or attempted kidnapping in
210.43 the first degree; arson in the first or second degree; assault in the first

degree; manslaughter in the first degree; rape in the first degree;
sodomy in the first degree; aggravated sexual abuse; first degree
burglary; some second degree burglary; first degree robbery; some
second degree robbery; attempted second degree murder.

Reverse Waiver®

—the criminal court or superior court may send the child to juvenile court.
Sentencing

—all juveniles in criminal court are sentenced as juvenile offenders (an

adult-like sentence but with lower required minimum period of
imprisonment).

North Carolina Section 7A-608 15 Statutory Exclusions

—child 13 or older charged with a class A felony (an offense punishable
by death or life imprisonment) (mandatory transfer).

Judicial Waiver

—child 13 or older charged with a lesser felony.
North Dakota Section 27-20-34 17 Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older charged with committing an act that involves the
infliction or threat of serious bodily harm.
—child 16 or older.

Ohio Sections 2151.011, 17 Statutory Exclusions
2151.26

—child charged with murder; aggravated murder; or a felony or
aggravated felony of the first or second degree, if the child has been
previously transferred to and convicted in criminal court.

—child charged with murder or aggravated murder and who previously
has been adjudicated as a delinquent for murder or aggravated murder
(mandatory transfer).

Judicial Waiver

—child 15 or older charged with a felony.

(continued)

Page 80 GAO/GGD-95-170 Juvenile Case Dispositions



Appendix IV
Summary of Transfer Laws

Maximum age of
original juvenile
State Statute court jurisdiction Conditions under which a juvenile is or may be tried in criminal court

Oklahoma 10 sections 1101, 17 Statutory Exclusions
1104.02, 1112

—child 16 or older charged with murder; kidnapping for the purposes of
extortion; robbery with a dangerous weapon; rape in the first degree;
rape by instrument; use of a firearm or other offensive weapon, while
committing a felony; arson in the first degree; burglary with explosives,
first or second degree burglary after three or more adjudications for first
or second degree burglary; shooting with intent to kill; discharging a
firearm, crossbow, or other weapon from a vehicle; intimidating a
witness; manufacturing, distributing, dispensing, or possessing with
intent to manufacture, distribute, or dispense controlled dangerous
substances; assault and battery with a deadly weapon; manslaughter in
the first degree; or sodomy.

—any child convicted as an adult of the offense originally charged.

Judicial Waiver
—any child charged with a felony.
Reverse Waiver

—criminal court may waive its jurisdiction over statutorily excluded
offenses (it may not waive jurisdiction over a child previously convicted

as an adult).
Oregon Sections 419C.340, 17 Statutory Exclusions
419C.349,
419C.352, —child 15 or older charged with murder, first or second degree
419C.361, 419C.364 manslaughter, first or second degree assault, first or second degree

kidnapping, first or second degree rape, first or second degree sodomy,
unlawful sexual penetration, first degree sexual abuse, first or second
degree robbery.

Judicial Waiver

—child 15 or older charged with attempt to commit murder or attempt to
commit an aggravated form of murder.

—child 16 or older charged with a class A or B felony (except for those
offenses that are statutorily excluded), escape in the second degree,
assault in the third degree, coercion, arson in the second degree, or
robbery in the third degree.

Sentencing

—child found guilty of lesser “nonwaivable” offense must be returned to
juvenile court for disposition.
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Pennsylvania 42 PA. C.S.A. 17 Statutory Exclusions

sections 6302, 6322,

6355 —any child charged with murder.

—any child who has been found guilty in a criminal proceeding.
Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older charged with a felony.

Reverse Waiver

—child charged with murder in criminal court may be transferred to
juvenile court.

Sentencing

—child charged with murder in criminal proceeding but convicted of
crime less than murder may be transferred to juvenile court for
sentencing.

—child transferred to criminal court under judicial waiver and convicted
of a misdemeanor may be transferred back to juvenile court for

sentencing.
Rhode Island Sections 14-1-3, 17 Statutory Exclusions
14-1-7,14-1-7 1,
14-1-7.2, —any child who has been convicted as an adult.
14-1-7.3, —child 17 or older charged with murder, first degree sexual assault, or
14-1-7.4 assault with intent to commit murder (mandatory transfer).

Judicial Waiver

—any child charged with a crime punishable by life imprisonment.
—child 16 or older charged with a felony.

Juvenile Court Disposition

—any child charged with a felony may be “certified” in juvenile court (a
child that is certified may be sentenced to the state training school or to
a term of years to be served at the training school until the child turns 21,
with the excess time being served in prison, unless the court finds before
then that the child has been rehabilitated).

—child 16 or older charged with a felony drug offense and has been
previously adjudicated as a delinquent for a felony drug offense after the
age of 16 must be waived or certified.

—child 16 or older charged with a felony and who has been found as a
delinquent for having committed two offenses after the age of 16 for
which an adult could be indicted must be certified.
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South Carolina Sections 20-7-390, 16 Statutory Exclusions
20-7-430

—child 16 charged with murder; a Class A, B, C, or D felony; a felony
that has a maximum term of imprisonment of 15 years or more; criminal
sexual conduct; or distribution of drugs within proximity of a school.

Judicial Waiver

—child younger than 16 charged with murder or criminal sexual conduct.
—child 14 or 15 charged with a Class A, B, C, or D felony; a felony that
provides for a maximum term of imprisonment of 15 years or more; or
distribution of drugs within proximity of a school.

—child 14 or older charged with assault and battery of a high and
aggravated nature; carrying weapons on school property; or unlawful
carrying of a pistol.

—child 16 charged with a Class E or F felony; or a Class A, B, or C
misdemeanor.

Reserve Waiver

—child statutorily excluded may be remanded to the family court for
disposition of the charge at the discretion of the prosecutor.

South Dakota Sections 26-11-4, 17 Judicial Waiver
26-11-10

—child age 10 or older charged with a felony. (There is a rebuttable
presumption for waiver for a child 16 or older charged with a class A, B,
1, or 2 felony.)

Sentencing
—When a child under 18 is found guilty of any crime except murder, the

circuit court may, instead of entering judgment, order that the child be
sent to the state training school.

Tennessee Sections 37-1-134, 17 Statutory Exclusions
37-1-159

—any child who has been convicted as an adult.
Judicial Waiver

—child 16 or older.

—any child charged with first or second degree murder, rape,
aggravated rape, aggravated robbery, especially-aggravated robbery,
kidnapping, aggravated kidnapping, or especially-aggravated
kidnapping.

Reverse Waiver
—when a nonlawyer judge presides over transfer hearing, the criminal

court upon motion of juvenile must hold a de novo transfer hearing and
either remand the case to juvenile court or accept jurisdiction.
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Texas Family Code 16 Judicial Waiver
sections 51.03,
51.08, 54.02 —child age 15 or older charged with a felony.
Reverse Waiver
—criminal court shall conduct examining trial if there is good cause to do
so and may remand to juvenile court (if there is no good cause for an
examining trial, the court refers the matter to a grand jury).
—the juvenile court may reclaim jurisdiction if a grand jury refuses to
indict the juvenile.
Utah Sections 17 Statutory Exclusions
78-3a-17(1),
78-3a-25 —child 16 or older charged with aggravated murder.

—any child who has been previously convicted as an adult.

Prosecutorial Discretion

—child 16 or older charged with murder, a capital crime, first degree
felony, criminal homicide or attempted criminal homicide involving the
use of a dangerous weapon; or any felony involving the use of a
dangerous weapon where the juvenile has a prior adjudication for a
felony offense involving a dangerous weapon.

Judicial Waiver (called certification)

—child 14 or older charged with a felony.

Reverse Waiver

—child whose case has been judicially waived may request hearing in
juvenile court to recall jurisdiction. (If juvenile court recalls jurisdiction,
juvenile is returned to juvenile court for further proceedings, which may
include certification to adult court.)

Sentencing

—a criminal court may sentence a child as an adult or as a juvenile in a
case that has been waived.
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Vermont 33 sections 5502, 17 (“child” is Statutory Exclusions
5505, 5506 defined as under

16 for —child 14 or older charged with arson, causing death; assault and
delinquency robbery with a dangerous weapon; assault and robbery, causing bodily
purposes, but 16 injury; aggravated assault; murder; manslaughter; kidnapping; maiming;
and 17 year olds sexual assault; or aggravated sexual assault.
may still be
treated as Prosecutorial Discretion
juveniles)

—child 16 or 17 charged with a nonexcluded crime.
Judicial Waiver

—any child age 10 to 13 charged with arson, causing death; assault and
robbery with a dangerous weapon; assault and robbery, causing bodily

injury; aggravated assault; murder; manslaughter; kidnapping; maiming;
sexual assault; or aggravated sexual assault.

Reverse Waiver

—criminal court may transfer juvenile back to juvenile court in cases of
statutory exclusions and prosecutorial discretion.

Sentencing

—child 15 or younger tried as an adult and found guilty of a lesser
offense (not one listed above) shall be transferred to juvenile court for
disposition (this will be considered an adjudication for delinquency not a
criminal conviction).
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Virginia Sections 16.1-269.1, 17 Statutory Exclusions

16.1-269.3,

16.1-269.4, —any child previously convicted as an adult.

16.1-269.6, 16.1-271
Judicial Waiver

—child 14 or older charged with a felony (if the child is 14 or older and
charged with class 1 or 2 felony or 16 or older and charged with class 3
felony for murder, mob related felony, kidnapping or assault or any
unclassified felony that carries a maximum penalty of 40 years, the court
may transfer without finding that the juvenile is not a proper person to
remain in juvenile court). (When the case of a child 14 or older charged
with an offense punishable by death or 20 years or more imprisonment is
not waived, the prosecutor may appeal to circuit court. The circuit court
then holds a hearing to determine whether juvenile court substantially
complied with the judicial waiver statute and either remands the case to
juvenile court or accepts jurisdiction.)

Reverse Waiver

—child whose case has been judicially waived may appeal the waiver to
circuit court. The circuit court then holds a hearing as above and either
remands the case to juvenile court or accepts jurisdiction.

Sentencing

—child convicted as an adult for the first time may be sentenced as an
adult or may be subject to juvenile disposition.

Washington Sections 13.04.030, 17 Statutory Exclusions
13.40.020, 13.40.110

—child 16 or older charged with a serious violent offense or charged
with a violent offense if the child has a criminal history consisting of (i) 1
or more prior serious violent offenses; (ii) 2 or more prior violent offenses;
or (iii) 3 or more of any combination of any class A or B felony, vehicular
assault, or manslaughter in the second degree, provided that each
offense was committed after the child reached 13 and was prosecuted
separately; (criminal history includes all criminal complaints where the
allegations were found correct by a court or where criminal complaint
was diverted on agreement of respondent after advisement that the
complaint would be part of criminal history).

—child who has been tried as an adult.

Judicial Waiver

—any child (a transfer hearing must be held where juvenile is 15 or older
charged with a class A felony or an attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to
commit a class A felony; or 17 and charged with second degree assault,
first degree extortion, indecent liberties, second degree child
molestation, second degree kidnapping, or second degree robbery).

(continued)
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Summary of Transfer Laws

State Statute

Maximum age of
original juvenile

court jurisdiction Conditions under which a juvenile is or may be tried in criminal court

West Virginia Sections 49-5-10,
49-5-13

17

Judicial Waiver

—any child charged with treason, murder, robbery using firearms or
other deadly weapons, kidnapping, first degree arson, or sexual assault
in the first degree; or a violent felony if the child has been previously
adjudicated as a delinquent for a violent felony, or any felony if the child
has been twice previously adjudicated as a delinquent for a felony.
—any child 16 or older charged with a violent felony or any felony if the
child has a previous adjudication for a felony.

Reverse Waiver

—any child whose case is waived has the right to directly appeal an
order of transfer to the Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia.

Sentencing

—any child convicted as an adult may be sentenced as an adult or
given a juvenile disposition.

Wisconsin Sections 48.18,
48.183, 970.032

17

Statutory Exclusions

—any child charged with assault or battery against an employee, officer,
visitor, or inmate while confined in a secured correctional facility.

Judicial Waiver

—any child 16 or older (there is a presumption for waiver if the child has
previously been waived).

—any child 14 or older charged with attempted first degree murder, first
or second degree murder, manufacture or delivery of controlled
substances, manslaughter, homicide by reckless conduct, first degree
sexual assault, taking hostages, kidnapping, burglary while armed with a
dangerous weapon, burglary using an explosive to open a depository,
committing battery on a person who is lawfully in a burglarized enclosure
during a burglary, or committing a felony at the request of or for the
benefit of a criminal gang.

Reverse Waiver

—any child statutorily excluded may have his or her case waived back to
juvenile court.
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Summary of Transfer Laws

State

Statute

Maximum age of
original juvenile

court jurisdiction Conditions under which a juvenile is or may be tried in criminal court

Wyoming

Sections 14-6-203,

14-6-237

17 Prosecutorial Discretion

—child 14 or older charged with violent felony or with any felony if child
has been previously adjudicated as a delinquent under two separate
petitions for acts that would constitute felonies.

—child 17 or older.

Judicial Waiver
—child 13 or older.
Reverse Waiver

—criminal court may transfer to juvenile court any proceeding
commenced in criminal court over which juvenile court has concurrent
jurisdiction—juvenile court has concurrent jurisdiction by statute over all
minors (except those 12 or younger charged with an offense punishable
by more than 6 months incarceration over which it has exclusive
jurisdiction).
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Note: This analysis focused on the state laws that were passed through 1994, some of which
became effective in 1995. Certain violations committed by juveniles are treated as if they were
done by adults in many states; namely, fish and game violations, traffic violations committed by
juveniles old enough to obtain drivers licenses, and contempt of court. In addition, some states
have provisions that allow the juvenile to request that his or her case be waived to criminal court
or that provide for waiver or prosecutorial discretion when the charges are violations of alcohol
and tobacco possession laws. These types of provisions are not included in the table.

When a case is waived to criminal court because of the nature of the charge, charges arising out
of the same incident or which are otherwise joinable are usually also transferred. When waiver is
in the juvenile court’s discretion, common prerequisites are that there must be a waiver hearing
where it is found that there is probable cause that the child committed the act and that it is in the
best interests of the child and community that there be waiver of jurisdiction.

The category of statutory exclusion in the table includes state statutory provisions that require that
the juvenile be transferred to criminal court from juvenile court (identified as “mandatory transfer”
provisions).

aAn information is a written accusation made by a public prosecutor. It is used in place of a grand
jury indictment to bring a person to trial.

bReverse waiver in New York—Juvenile Offenders (juveniles who commit statutorily excluded
offenses) originally appear before local criminal court. The criminal court may, at the request of
the prosecutor or the juvenile, remove the action to family court. However, if the juvenile is
charged with second degree murder, first degree rape, sodomy, or an armed felony, the criminal
court may not remove the case to family court, unless the criminal court finds one of the following
three factors: (1) mitigating circumstances, (2) that the juvenile’s participation in the offense was
minor, or (3) possible deficiencies in proof.

In addition, the grand jury may request removal to family court if it finds that the juvenile
committed a crime, the crime is one for which the grand jury may not indict a juvenile (i.e.,
offenses other than those listed in the statutory exclusions), the grand jury does not indict, and
there is legally sufficient evidence that the child committed a crime. The court must approve the
request unless it is improper or insufficient on its face.

After the juvenile is arraigned upon an indictment in Superior Court, the Superior Court may, upon
motion of any party or its own motion, order removal to family court. However, if the juvenile is
charged with one of the above enumerated offenses the Superior Court must obtain the
prosecutor’s consent and find one of the above listed factors in order to remove to family court.

Source: GAO review of state statutes.
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Summary of Confinement Conditions for
Juveniles in Adult Correctional Facilities

The following data regarding the conditions of confinement of juveniles in
seven adult correctional facilities that we visited was provided by facility
officials without our verification.

In Ohio, juveniles were housed within the general prison population
irrespective of their age.! However, in Florida, Michigan, and North
Carolina, younger inmates (typically those under age 26) were usually
housed in prisons designated for that age group. At six of the prisons we
visited, age was not considered when making housing assignments within
the prison.? Housing units in the prisons we visited varied in layout from
single- or double-bunk cells to dormitory style structures. Housing units
typically had common-use bathroom facilities. In addition, most housing
units’ common-use areas typically were equipped with televisions.

Housing

At all seven prisons, health care was available on site. Generally, the
health staff was composed of a physician, nurses, and a dentist. Upon
entering the prison system, all inmates were to be subjected to a physical
examination. Inmates were to be allowed daily visits to the health unit.
When an inmate requested to see a nurse, generally the request was to be
granted within 24 hours. If an emergency occurred, the inmates’ care was
to be handled at the prison or at an off-site hospital. Additionally, the
facilities usually were to provide mental health counseling and offer some
form of drug rehabilitation. For example, in Florida, new inmates were to
be screened to determine if they needed substance abuse services.
Substance abuse services available in Florida prisons included treatment
ranging from a 40-hour educational program to a 6- to 12-month intensive
program.

Health Services

Educati on, Vocati on, Edpcation, Yocationt and yvork programs were available at a}l prisons we
visited. During classification, inmates were generally to be given an

and Work P rograms opportunity to indicate their preferences for participation in these
programs. Factors to be considered by prison officials when assigning
inmates to these programs included inmates’ length of sentence,
educational level, and security classification.

IAccording to a deputy warden at Southeastern Correctional Institution in Ohio, the prison formerly
accepted many of Ohio’s young offenders (age 21 and below). However, due to problems associated
with violence among young offenders, they will now be sent to other prisons, and older inmates are
being integrated into the Institution.

>The Florida Correctional Institution is a women’s prison that housed inmates of all ages.
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Recreational
Activities

In six of the seven prisons, generally all inmates were to participate in an
education, vocation, or work program.® Education programs available at
the prisons included classes dealing with the Graduate Equivalency
Diploma (GED) test and adult basic education. Class sizes generally ranged
from about 15 to 30 inmates. However, at the Handlon Michigan Training
Unit, an adult basic education program had much smaller class sizes,
which sometimes had a teacher to inmate ratio of 1 to 1 for inmates testing
below the eight grade reading and math level.

All of the prisons offered a variety of vocational programs. These
programs included auto mechanics, masonry, electronics, horticulture,
and drafting. The Florida Correctional Institution for women offered
vocational programs in data entry, sewing, and cosmetology. Some factors
considered when assigning inmates to vocational and education programs
included their custody classification and educational level. Also, because
some programs took as long as 16 months to complete, inmates with
sentences shorter than the length of the program were not eligible to
participate.

Inmates not participating in education or vocational programs were to be
required to work. Job assignments included cooks, dishwashers, or food
servers in the prison kitchen, lawn maintenance on the prison grounds, or
work at the prison store. In Ohio, Michigan, and North Carolina inmates
were paid a nominal salary to work or attend school. For example, in
Ohio, inmates could earn up to $20 per month. In addition, inmates at the
Florida Correctional Institution, Southeastern Correctional Institution, and
the Michigan Reformatory could participate in prison industry programs
that produced products, some of which were marketed outside of the
prisons. For example, at the Michigan Reformatory, the Michigan State
Industries employed about 90 inmates in an on site furniture factory.

All prisons provided a variety of recreational activities and equipment.
During leisure time inmates generally had access to a library, television,
weight-lifting equipment, table tennis, and pool tables. One prison
provided cable programming on a large screen television, and another
prison provided a built-in swimming pool (which inmates paid for) and a
tennis court. Several of the prisons had intermural sports, including flag
football, basketball, and softball.

3At the Michigan Reformatory, a maximum security prison, inmates were not required but had the
option to work or attend school.
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. Inmates at the prisons we visited had similar daily schedules. Generally,
Daﬂy Schedule they began the day between 6:00 a.m. and 8:00 a.m. Typically the inmates

were counted about four times daily. Following the morning count,
breakfast was served. After breakfast, inmates reported to their school or
work assignments for about 3 hours. Lunch was usually served around
12:00 p.m. After lunch, inmates returned to their school or work
assignments for another 3 hours. Dinner was served around 5:00 p.m. After
dinner, inmates had time to participate in various recreational and
religious programs or other activities from about 6:00 p.m. until about 9:00
p-m. Inmates were locked in their housing units with lights out at about
11:00 p.m.
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